2012 Adventurer of the Year Nominees includes Rice, Moore, and MacAskill

National Geographic’s annual Adventurers of the Year nominees are in and it’s time to vote for the next Adventurer(s) to win the prestigious award. For the past seven years, Nat Geo has searched the globe to find Adventurers selected for his or her extraordinary achievement in exploration, conservation, and adventure sports.

Among the 2012 nominees are action sports superstars Travis Rice, Carissa Moore, and Danny MacAskill.

With the release of the highly anticipated film Art of Flight Rice’s willingness and ability to push the limits of backcountry snowboarding is on display for all. Big Mountain Snowboarding has gained a lot of attention in the past several months with Rice leading the way. Rice has developed into one of the best all-around snowboarders in the world: He is equally capable of showing up at X Games to win slope style gold as he is in pioneering a first descent in the remote Darwin Range on the tip of South America.
Check out his Adventure of the Year Interview

In only her second year on tour the 19-year-old Hawaiian Carissa Moore became the youngest person ever to win the world title of Surfing stopping Steph Gilmore’s consecutive title streak. Later this month Moore will be the first woman in the modern era to compete in the Men’s Triple Crown of Surfing in Hawaii.
Check out her Adventure of the Year Interview

Danny MacAskill brought the sport of urban trail riding to the mainstream in the way of a viral video which was viewed over 27 million times. This year MacAskill released the short film Industrial Revolutions–which featured him riding through Scotland’s abandoned factories, leaping between train cars, and riding across two-inch beams suspended 15 feet above concrete. The short was a hit once again bringing urban trail riding to the mainstream making MacAskill a household name.
Check out his Adventure of the Year Interview

The complete list of nominees includes seasoned world wanderer Alastair Humphreys, Climber Cory Richards, Hiker Jennifer Pharr Davis, Kayakers Jon Turk and Erik Boomer, Mountaineer Gerlinde Kaltenbrunner, Skier Nick Waggoner, and Lakpa Tsheri Sherpa and Sano Babu Sunuwar.

The list is staked with deserving adventures so head over to Nat Geo, do you homework and vote for this years Adventure of the Year.