2011 Pacific Games To Feature Surfing

Surfing to Be Part of the 2011 Pacific Games in New Caledonia

La Jolla, California, August 23, 2011- The International Surfing Association is proud to announce that surfing will be included once again in the Pacific Games, to be held in New Caledonia from August 27 until September 10.

The Pacific Games (formerly known as the South Pacific Games) is a multi-sport event, where athletes compete for medals and the honor of defending their nations. Participation is reserved exclusively for countries around the South Pacific. It is held every four years and began in 1963, hosted by Suva, Fiji.

Over 4,300 athletes from 22 nations will take part in the event, competing in the following 26 disciplines: Archery, Athletics, Badminton, Baseball, Basketball, Bodybuilding, Boxing, Canoeing (flatwater), Cricket, Football, Golf, Judo, Karate, Powerlifting, Rugby sevens, Sailing, Shooting, Squash, Surfing, Swimming, Table tennis, Taekwondo, Tennis, Triathlon, Volleyball and Weightlifting.

The surfing event will take place from August 31 until September 2 in the perfect waves of Ouano. Papua New Guinea, Guam, Fiji, Tahiti, Kiribati, Tonga, Vanuatu and New Caledonia are the countries to compete in the Open Men, Open Women and Longboard divisions, patterned after the ISA World Surfing Games.

“It is great for surfing to be part of the Pacific Games. Surfing surely brings a lot of value to these Games, from an area were surfing originated thousands of years ago. All of the participating countries have great potential to be surfing powerhouses and it is important for us to see the developement of the sport in that part of the world,” said ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “We are glad surfing is of part of another multi-sport event. It is great to see surfers travelling with their National Olympic Teams together with Olympic athletes. We take this as encouragement for our sport as we progress towards our goal of inclusion in the Olympic Games.”

Check all the details of the 2011 Pacific Games on www.nc2011.com

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running Open Division World Championships since 1964, Junior World Championships since 1980, and Masters World Championships since 2007. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the Tandem Surfing World Title, and will hold the first World Bodyboard Championship in 2011, and the first World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 69 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in San Diego, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA’s three Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER) and Debbie Beacham (USA).

Media Contact:
Pablo Zanocchi
Media Manager
International Surfing Association