2011 Seven Tiki Pro Goes Off

Aaron 'Gorkin' Cormican, 2011 Seven Tiki Pro Champ

Aaron 'Gorkin' Cormican, 2011 Seven Tiki Pro Champ

Seven Tiki Pro 2011 Takes Over Jacksonville Beach Pier

Jacksonville Beach’s Premier Pro Surfing event, the Seven Tiki Pro took over Jacksonville Beach Pier September 28-30th. The event was nothing short of a success as over a hundred competitors from Barbados to California to all over the East Coast battled it out for the $17,000 cash purse.

The event showcased exciting new elements this year. The Presidente Light Women’s Pro was added to the event as well as the Wounded Warriors Surf Clinic, which gave wounded Veterans the opportunity to learn to surf. Computer scoring was also introduced which allowed more timely and accurate scoring.

The call was made to hold the contest before the weekend in hopes of taking full advantage of the Ophelia swell. Although the swell did not kick up the larger waves were we hoping for, we were blessed with clean, contestable surf. Hometown hero Asher Nolan put on a solid showing both days of the event before being inched out by now 4x Seven Tiki Champion, Aaron Cormican. Local ladies took the Women’s event with Kayla Durden as runner-up and Karina Petroni taking the win.

Despite being held during the week, the beach was packed with spectators, sponsors and media, which attributes to how much the event has grown. The Seven Tiki Pro has put North Florida on the map of the global surf industry and has become a “can’t miss” surfing event. We’re very excited to continue to grow and look forward to producing another superior event next year.—Jay Dodson

2011 SEVEN TIKI® Pro MEN Results

1st: Aaron Cormican $6,000
2nd: Asher Nolan $2,400
3rd: Michael Dunphy $1,500
4th: Blake Jones $1,000

=5th: Jeremy Johnston, Michael Powell $600
=7th: Travis Beckmann, Jake McGuire $400
=9th: Fisher Heverly, Ben Bourgeois, Jensen Callaway, CT Taylor
=13th: Ryan Briggs, Noah Schwitzer, Oliver Kurtz, Joshua Burke

Karina Petroni, 2011 Seven Tiki Pro Women's Champ

Karina Petroni, 2011 Seven Tiki Pro Women's Champ


Karina Petroni, $1,000
Kayla Durden, $500
Nicky Viesins, $300
Emily Ruppert, $200

For more information visit www.seventikipro.com or contact contest director, Jay Dodson at 904.476.5111 or at seventikipro@gmail.com