Billabong Pro Mundaka Update: Competition Postponed; Set To Resume Tomorrow

Wednesday, October 13, 2004 (Mundaka, Euskadi, Spain) The Billabong Pro was again postponed this morning, though all indicators are positive for a resumption of the Foster’s men’s ASP World Championship Tournament (WCT) tomorrow. Great surf is predicted at Mundaka for the climatic finish to this year’s US$260,000 event.

No waves were breaking at Mundaka this morning, though a cold front has arrived as a prelude to the anticipated swell increase. Another decision will be made tomorrow by 8am (local time), with organizers expecting a 9am start.

Mundaka held a rural sports display yesterday, with townsfolk and foreigners alike coming out to see the sights. For images check out:

Round three heats are listed below.

Billabong Pro Mundaka Round Three (1st>Rnd4; 2nd=17th receives US$4,225)

H1: Nathan Hedge (AUS) vs. Tom Whitaker (AUS)

H2: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs. Tim Curran (USA)

H3: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. Phillip MacDonald (AUS)

H4: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Trent Munro (AUS)

H5: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Darren O’Rafferty (AUS)

H6: Jake Paterson (AUS) vs. Raoni Monteiro (BRA)

H7: Paulo Moura (BRA) vs. Cory Lopez (USA)

H8: Andy Irons (HAW) vs. Armando Daltro (BRA)

H9: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Shane Beschen (USA)

H10: Peterson Rosa (BRA) vs. Pat O’Connell (USA)

H11: Luke Egan (AUS) vs. Neco Padaratz (BRA)

H12: Michael Lowe (AUS) vs. Kalani Robb (HAW)

H13: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Nathan Webster (AUS)

H14: Lee Winkler (AUS) vs. Richard Lovett (AUS)

H15: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Troy Brooks (AUS)

H16: Daniel Wills (AUS) vs. Victor Ribas (BRA)

The Billabong Pro Mundaka is supported by prestigious co-sponsors such as Vans, Von Zipper, Hertz, Yamaha and Cobra Jet ski, as well as local companies and administrations such as Mundaka, the Mundaka Surf Club, The Basque Surfing Federation, Bakio and the Bakio Surf Club, BBK, Telefonica and the Basque Government.