Everybody’s Heroes: The Surfing Walk Of Fame celebrates its ten-year anniversary in grand style.

The foyer of the Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Grand Ballroom filled with surfing legends on July 31, as hundreds came out to celebrate the ten-year anniversary of the Surfing Walk Of Fame.

The gala dinner ran like a mini Waterman’s Ball — industry honchos mingled with such surfing legends as Dale Velzy, Greg Noll, Bud Browne, Tom Curren, Jericho Poppler, David Nuuhiwa, Bud Llamas, Corky Carroll, Herbie Fletcher, Shaun Tomson, and many, many others. Autograph hunting was especially popular — the event marked the debut of a high-quality book celebrating the past ten years of the Walk Of Fame inductees, and the many past-honored surfers in attendance provided a once in a lifetime opportunity to get some signatures.


Of course, the dinner was just the capstone to an amazing day. Earlier in the morning, in front of hundreds of spectators, this year’s Walk Of Fame inductees were honored at an induction ceremony in front of Jack’s Surfboards, the patron of the Walk Of Fame. In a ceremony that ranged from amusing to emotion-choked, Mike Doyle, Martin Potter, Marge Calhoun, Tom Morey, Chuck Linnen, Michelle Turner, and Larry “Flame Moore received their engraved granite paving stones. While Morey, or “Y as he’s now known, was his enigmatic self, it was Pat O’Connell’s introduction of Flame that best captured the spirit of the event and the love, respect, and admiration the surf industry has for this legendary lensman and photo editor.

Flame, who had a baseball-sized cancerous tumor removed from his brain earlier this year, looked happy and fit as he gave heartfelt thanks to God, friends and family, and the surfing community for his life and his 30 years behind the light table.


Big congratulations go out to Ron and Bobbie Abdulfattah of Jack’s Surfboards and the rest of the Walk Of Fame board of directors for reminding us of the bonds that hold the surf community together and providing such an apt venue for honoring the sport’s leaders and pioneers.