Fox Surf N Moto Challenge Highlights

Dirt Meets Surf At The Fox Mini Moto Surf Industry Challenge
Fox Dealers and Pro Surfers Battle For Crossover Bragging Rights

IRVINE, CA (Dec. 15, 2011): The 3rd annual Fox Mini Moto Surf Industry Challenge took place on the North Shore of Hawaii at the Kahuku MX Track and the Turtle Bay Resort. Fox MX Team rider Ricky Carmichael, Fox Surf Team riders Bede Durbidge, Ian Walsh, Keanu Asing, Sean Hayes, Jesse Merle Jones, Tanner Hendrickson, Nage Melamed, and from the Fox Wake contingency, Rusty Malinoski, and Parks Bonifay, along with industry and dealer teams got the chance to battle it out in the dirt-meets-surf event. Pitting shop teams and industry players against each other, the battle starts with an MX race and continues the following day with a surf contest at Turtle Bay.

Thursday, December 1, the event got underway at the Kahuku MX track, custom built just for the Fox Mini Moto Surf Industry Challenge. With dirtbikes donated by Suzuki – Montgomery Motors, twenty-five teams with two members per team were each required to ride mini motocross and surf. The best scores from the moto portion combined with the best scores from the surf portion produced overall team winner in both the Dealer and Industry categories. Before the motos started Ricky Carmichael and Jeff Emig took a few lucky dealers and locals on a trail ride too!

The next day, everyone met at Pool Bar Break at Turtle Bay. Fox Surf team rider Ian Walsh was on hand for Moto and Surf, “The vibe is cool,” Walsh said, “…It’s a fun day at the track for all the surfers to mix it up barbecuing and riding, and then a fun day in the water for all the moto guys to change it up and play in the water instead of the dirt for a day.” The conditions started out a little wild but the waves cleaned up, the sun came out, and new champions were given trophies but more importantly bragging rights!

Charlie Carroll

In the Dealer category Team Sera’s Surf ‘N Shore (David Kuwada and Charlie Carroll) rode to first place, with the Aiwohi’s (Shine and Mike) coming in second. The team of Eli Olson/Koa Rothman won the Overall Industry title with Buttons Kaluhiokalani /Mark Gabriel finishing a close second.

Special thanks to the HMA, Suzuki – Montgomery Motors, SurfTech, Skullcandy, Vitamin Water and Turtle Bay Resort.

For more, jump to: and