ISA Scholarship Winners Announced

L to R: Mario Vega (GUA), Francisco Morosini (URU) and Franwill Vento (VEN) happy scholarship winners with ISA President Fernando Aguerre. Photo: ISA
L to R: Mario Vega (GUA), Francisco Morosini (URU) and Franwill Vento (VEN) happy scholarship winners with ISA President Fernando Aguerre. Photo: ISA

ISA Scholarship Winners Announced

2011 ISA Individual Scholarship Recipients Announced; Twenty-five worthy surfers receive USD 1,000 scholarships

The International Surfing Association announced the recipients of the 2011 ISA Individual Scholarship Program during the Opening Ceremony of the Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in Peru.

The ISA Scholarship Program has consistently grown since it first started in 2007 due to the generous funding from The Quiksilver Foundation, Billabong and Reef Redemption, and the continued support from ISA member nations. For 2011 the ISA will be issuing 25 USD 1,000 scholarships to Under 18 junior surfers from 19 different countries.

ISA President, Fernando Aguerre said about this year’s Scholarship Program: "I believe the ISA Scholarship Program is a enormous step forward for the ISA to contribute to improve the lives of junior surfers around the world. Together, we are sustaining the dreams and hopes of good students who are also great surfers."

After careful review by the Scholarship Selection Committee, the ISA announced the following surfers as ISA Surfing Ambassadors. The scholarship recipients are inspirational human beings, great surfers and avid students who want to succeed in surfing and school.
1 – Argentina, Tobías Ortells
2 – Australia, Jack Murray
3 – Australia, Kelly Norris
4 – Barbados, Chelsea Roett
5 – Ecuador, Irons Burgos
6 – Fiji, William Dansey
7 – France, Louis Baltazar Fears
8 – Great Britain, Jaide Lowe
9 – Guatemala, Mario Vega
10 – Japan, Gai Sato
11 – Japan, Minato Takahashi
12 – Netherlands, Jelle de Roode
13 – Nicaragua, Aarón Ernesto Gómez Selva
14 – Nicaragua, Milton Bladimir Aguilar Quintanilla
15 – Peru, Juninho Urcia
16 – Peru, Jorge Luis Rodríguez
17 – Slovenia, Niki Luksic Druskovic
18 – South Africa, Brandon Benjamin
19 – South Africa, Marchall Reans
20 – Spain, Nahir Aylen Manduca
21 – Thailand, Panu Wisetsombat
22 – USA, Mary-Townsend Bourque
23 – USA, Maddie Swayne
24 – Uruguay, Francisco Morosini
25 – Venezuela, Franwil Vento

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running Open Division World Championships since 1964, Junior World Championships since 1980, and Masters World Championships since 2007. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the Tandem Surfing World Title, and will hold the first Stand Up Paddle (SUP) World Championship and the first World Bodyboard Championship in 2011.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 67 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in San Diego, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Mike Gerard (USA) Karín Sierralta (PER) and Debbie Beacham (USA).