ISA World Games Drug Test Results

Hira Terinatoofa at the 2010 ISA World Games.

Hira Terinatoofa at the 2010 ISA World Games.

2010 Billabong ISA World Games Drug Test Results

The International Surfing Association (ISA) is pleased to announce that all the drug tests conducted at the Billabong ISA World Surfing Games had negative results. The Games took place at the perfect waves of Caballeros and Señoritas in Punta Hermosa, Peru from October 19 to 27.

The ISA conducts drug testing on all finalists at its World Championship events. As a result, the following athletes were tested: Hira Terinatoofa (TAH), Gabriel Villarán (PER), Alan Jhones (BRA), Michael Campbell (AUS), Rodrigo Sphyer (BRA), John Constable (AUS), Harley Ingleby (AUS), Benoit Clemente (PER), Chelsea Hedges (AUS), Paige Hareb (NZL), Sofía Mulanovich (PER) and Pauline Ado (FRA).

“This is great news for our sport. The ISA has been doing anti doping testing of all its world championship's finalists since 1992. We are proud of our athletes and their drug free surfing,” said ISA president, Fernando Aguerre.

This year's event saw over 200 athletes from 31 countries. After eight days of intense competition, Peru won its first gold medal in the overall team standings. Hira Teriinatoofa (TAH) won the gold medal in the Open Men division, Chelsea Hedges (AUS) in the Open Women division and Rodrigo Sphyer (BRA) in the Longboard division.

The ISA is a member of the World Anti Doping Agency (WADA) and is committed to a doping-free sport by complying with the ISA Anti-Doping Code, which is based on the WADA code.

For more information regarding anti-doping, visit:

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running Open Division World Championships since 1964, Junior World Championships since 1980, and Masters World Championships since 2007. The ISA will hold the first Stand Up Paddle (SUP) World Championship and the first World Bodyboard Championship in 2011.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 64 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in San Diego, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA’s three Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (Australia), Mike Gerard (USA) and Karín Sierralta (Peru).