No Dane Reynolds At Billabong Pro Tahiti

So he'll surf the US Open at Huntington Beach but not the Billabong Pro in Tahiti? Photo:
So he'll surf the US Open at Huntington Beach but not the Billabong Pro in Tahiti? Photo:

No Dane Reynolds At Billabong Pro Tahiti

TEAHUPOO, Taiarapu/French Polynesia (Monday, August 15, 2011) – With the completion of the Air Tahiti VonZipper Trials yesterday, the final two wildcard positions for the Billabong Pro Tahiti were decided with Brazilian Ricardo Dos Santos (Guarda Do Embau, BRA) and local Heiarri Williams (PYF) finishing first and second in clean conditions at Teahupoo.

Dane Reynolds (USA), 25, has withdrawn from competition and will be replaced by Cory Lopez (USA), 34, at the Billabong Pro Tahiti. No reason has been provided as of yet for Reynolds’ withdrawal.

Lopez will take on Adrian Buchan (AUS), 28, and Chris Davidson (AUS), 34, in the opening heat of competition.

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, are calling for favorable storm track in the Southwest Pacific will likely set up fairly solid surf for most of the first week of the contest waiting period, with a good chance for overhead to well overhead waves on the larger days. Conditions also look favorable, at this point, for at least the first few days of the waiting period.

The Billabong Pro Tahiti will be webcast LIVE via

For more information, log onto

Heat 1: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Chris Davidson (AUS), Cory Lopez (USA)
Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 3: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Jadson Andre (BRA), Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT), Bobby Martinez (USA)
Heat 5: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Daniel Ross (AUS), Heiarii Williams (PYF)
Heat 7: Owen Wright (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 8: Joel Parkinson (AUS), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 9: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 10: Damien Hobgood (USA), Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 11: Michel Bourez (PYF), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 12: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Julian Wilson (AUS), Josh Kerr (AUS)