Oz & France Enter 2012 ISA China Cup

Australia and France Ready for the 2012 ISA China Cup

ISA 2011 World Surfing Games champion, Australia and Bronze winner, France announce their team for the ISA China Cup

Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival Presented by Quiksilver
January 7 to 14, 2012
Wanning, Hainan Island, China

Two of surfing’s biggest powerhouses, Australia and France, have confirmed the teams that will represent their country at the ISA China Cup.

The first event of the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival will take place in Riyue Bay, Hainan Island, China, from January 7 to 10. The Festival will include the two largest and most important surfing competitions in the history of China, and are the first step in the ISA’s long-term plan for developing the sport of surfing in China in cooperation with Beijing Womei Advertising.

The top 8 surfing nations of the world will compete for the Open Men and Women Gold but mainly for the ISA China Cup that the winning country will take home.

The Aussies and French will travel to China with strong teams.

World Tour standouts Dion Atkinson, Heath Joske, Blake Thornton and Nick Muscroft will represent Australia in the Open Men division.

Meanwhile, former ISA Junior Women World Champion, Jessi Miley-Dier along with ISA Open Women copper medalist and ASP Junior World Tour top 5, Dimity Stoyle will compete in the Open Women division.

On the other hand, former ISA Open World Champion and ASP World Tour top 16, Jeremy Flores will lead the French contingent. He will be joined by World Tour standouts like ISA Junior Copper Medalist Marc Larcomare, Romain Cloitre, and Joan Duru.

The French team gains strength on the Women’s side with 2006 ISA World Junior Champion and current ASP World Tour star, Pauline Ado and former European Champion, Justine Dupont.

The eight invited National Teams that will compete in the ISA China Cup include: Australia, Brazil, France, Argentina, South Africa, Peru, Venezuela and the USA. Each of them will include their country’s best four men and two women shortboarders, who will compete for Team and Individual Gold Medals.

The event starts on January 7 with the Parade of the Nations and the Sands of the World Ceremony to be held in the city of Wanning, Hainan Island, China.

Following the ISA China Cup, the Hainan Classic, a ,000 prize-purse ASP Men’s 4-Star event, will take place from January 11 to 14, and will feature some of the best surfers in the world.

Registration for the Hainan Classic is open now on www.aspaustralasia.com

ISA China Cup Australia Team in detail
Open Men
Dion Atkinson
Heath Joske
Blake Thornton
Nic Muscroft

Open Women
Dimity Stoyle
Jessi Miley Dier

Team Officials
Martin Dunn
Jeremy Sheppard

ISA China Cup French Team in detail
Open Men
Jeremy Flores
Romain Cloitre
Marc Larcomare
Joan Duru

Open Women
Pauline Ado
Justine Dupont

Team Officials
Patrick Flores
Xavier Delanne
Stephane Corbinien

The event will be webcasted live on www.hainaninternationalsurfingfestival.com

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running Open Division World Championships since 1964, Junior World Championships since 1980, and Masters World Championships since 2007. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the Tandem Surfing World Title, and will hold the World Bodyboard Championship in 2011, and the first World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 70 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in San Diego, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA’s three Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER) and Debbie Beacham (USA).

About Quiksilver
Quiksilver, Inc. (NYSE:ZQK) is the world’s leading outdoor sports lifestyle company, which designs, produces and distributes a diversified mix of branded apparel, footwear, accessories, snowboards and related products. The company’s apparel and footwear brands represent a casual lifestyle for young-minded people that connect with its boardriding culture and heritage.

The reputation of Quiksilver’s brands is based on outdoor action sports. The company’s Quiksilver, Roxy, DC, Lib Tech and Hawk brands are synonymous with the heritage and culture of surfing, skateboarding and snowboarding.

The company’s products are sold in over 90 countries in a wide range of distribution, including surf shops, skate shops, snow shops, its proprietary Boardriders Club shops and Quiksilver company-owned retail stores, other specialty stores and select department stores. Quiksilver’s corporate and Americas’ headquarters are in Huntington Beach, California, while its European headquarters are in St.Jean de Luz, France, and its Asia/Pacific headquarters are in Torquay, Australia.

For further information about Quiksilver, Inc., you are invited to take a look into our world at: www.quiksilverinc.com, www.quiksilverfoundation.org, www.quiksilver.com, www.roxy.com, www.dcshoecousa.com, www.hawkclothing.com.