Surfing Walk of Fame Adds Seven New Legends

Surfing Walk of Fame

Huntington Beach, CA – August 2, 2012 – In the shadow of the US Open, Surf City USA’s Main Street was blocked off to honor the newest class of inductees to the Surfing Walk of Fame on Thursday morning. Through a selection ballot, a host of respected surf industry veterans, former professionals and surf journalists narrowed down a field of hundreds of candidates to name the seven 2012 Surfing Walk of Fame’s honorees in their respective categories – Michael Ho (Surf Champion), Michael Peterson and Dick Brewer (Surf Pioneers), Sean Collins (Surf Culture), Alisa Schwarzstein-Cairns (Women of the Year), George Draper (Local Hero) and Stacy Wood (Honor Roll).

The late Michael Peterson, regarded by many as the best high-performance surfer during the mid-1970s and winner of the first-ever pro tour contest, shared the Surf Pioneer award with groundbreaking shaper Dick Brewer. Co-Surf Pioneer honoree Dick Brewer was instrumental in designing boards to fit inside the tube at Pipeline while working alongside Gerry Lopez and Reno Abellira.

Hawaiian legend Michael Ho received the Surfing Champion nod this year. Ho was a competitive force for over 25 years, winning the Pipeline Masters five times and the Triple Crown twice.  The Surf Culture honor goes to the late Sean Collins – largely regarded as the original pioneer in surf forecasting.

The Woman of the Year — Alisa Schwarzstein-Cairns — held a world amateur title at the age of 15, went on to be named ASP Rookie of the Year and then remained in the ASP top eight for four years. Also recognized in this year’s ceremony, George Draper, founder of the famous George’s Surf Shop in HB was recognized as the Local Hero. And long time Dwyer Middle School surf coach Stacy Wood earned the Honor Roll spot.

For additional information go to