Why The ASP World Title Race Is Way Closer Than You Think

Supertubes, Portugal. Photo: Steindler
Supertubes, Portugal. Photo: Steindler

Just when we thought Joel Parkinson was running away with the 2009 ASP World Title, along came his ankle injury, an unexpected pair of wins by good pal Mick Fanning, and then a crazy Mundaka contest that threw everyone off except for Adriano De Souza. What’s that mean? “At this stage, mathematically, there are 10 surfers in contention for the 2009 ASP World Title,” says ASP Tour Manager Renato Hickel. According to the ASP, if Mick wins in Portugal, then Parko would need a ninth and if Mick gets runner up then Parko needs a seventeenth.

“At this stage, mathematically, there are 10 surfers in contention for the 2009 ASP World Title”

Here’s the confusing part: what many forget is that the ratings are adjusted at years end and two of the worst results of the year are thrown out. In that case, if you throw the two lowest results out now, Parko is still in the lead and the field overall gets very much closer and the old sneaky one himself Mr. Slater is closer.

2009 Adjusted Ratings (Two Results Thrown Out)
1. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 5486 points
2. Mick Fanning (AUS) 5340 points
3. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 5138 points
4. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 4704 points
5. Kelly Slater (USA) 4694 points
6. C.J. Hobgood (USA) 4548 points
7. Taj Burrow (AUS) 4514 points
8. Bobby Martinez (USA) 4464 points
9. Taylor Knox (USA) 3996 points
10. Damien Hobgood (USA) 3974 points

Aritz Aranburu at Supertubes in Portugal. Photo: Steindler
Aritz Aranburu at Supertubes in Portugal. Photo: Steindler

In the last few years, it was basically a blowout coming into the last couple events. Mind you, there was one more event (11) and more often than not, lots of surfers wouldn’t show in Brazil (either over the waves or wanted a break before Hawaii) and the field would open up a bit. This is where this year’s tour gets even more interesting‹the tour’s not going to Brazil, it’s going to Portugal. A new event site, more swell (the wave in Portugal is a punchy beachbreak with lots of power) more exciting, and with a close ratings situation, a good reason to pay close attention to what should be the best title race in years.—Aaron Checkwood

1. Mick Fanning (AUS) 6350 points
2. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 6306 points
3. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 5773 points
4. C.J. Hobgood (USA) 5748 points
5. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 5524 points
6. Kelly Slater (USA) 5514 points
7. Taj Burrow (AUS) 5149 points
8. Bobby Martinez (USA) 4914 points
9. Taylor Knox (USA) 4816 points
10. Damien Hobgood (USA) 4794 points

1.Kelly Slater (USA) 8042 points
2. Taj Burrow (AUS) 6324 points
3. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 6180 points
4. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 5990 points
5. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 5748 points
6. C.J. Hobgood (USA) 5760 points
7. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 5730 points
8. Mick Fanning (AUS) 5310 points
9. Bobby Martinez (USA) 5282 points
10. Luke Stedman (AUS) 4696 points

1. Mick Fanning (AUS) 7346 points
2. Kelly Slater (USA) 6326 points
3. Taj Burrow (AUS) 6275 points
4. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 5505 points
5. Andy Irons (HAW) 4966 points
6. Bobby Martinez (USA) 4582 points
7. Jeremy Flores (FRA) 4580 points
8. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 4424 points
9. Pancho Sullivan (HAW)4287 points
10. Damien Hobgood (USA)4274 points

1. Kelly Slater (USA) 7824
2. Andy Irons (HAW) 6348
3. Taj Burrow (AUS) 6290
4. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 6050
5. Mick Fanning (AUS) 5848
6. Bobby Martinez (USA) 5843
7. Damien Hobgood (USA) 5152
8. Tom Whitaker (AUS) 4948
9. Taylor Knox (USA) 4880
10. Dean Morrison (AUS) 4856