2013 Australian Surf Industry Awards


The Winners Are…


Australian Surf Awards WinnersASB Magazine: Australia's Surf Industry celebrated in style this week at the gala Surf Industry Awards dinner held at Sydney's Novotel Manly Pacific. Hosted by Australia's Surf Retailers Federation the Awards night was held on a picture perfect autumn evening overlooking Australia's spiritual home of surfing Manly Beach. The awards celebrated the Australian surf industry's best Products, Brands and Retailers and were hailed an overwhelming success."There were a lot of memorable moments throughout the night, the big ones were naturally the Brand of the Year awards with Hurley taking out the coveted Mens Brand of the Year for the second year running, Billabong winning the Ladies Brand of the Year, Vans the Footwear Brand of the Year and GoPro taking out Breakthrough Brand of the Year" enthused Surf Retailers Federation President, Anthony Wilson "the crew from Rusty dominated the finalist for Sales Office of the Year with their Victorian office claiming the win".

Bragging rights were settled with a tag team surfing event held just hours before the Awards night kicked off. Quiksilver's Troy Brooks dominated with the highest score leading "Brands United" team to victory over the "Retail Allstars" team.

Product awards saw Hurley win the prized Boardshort of the Year for the second year running and Rip Curl also dominated the Wetsuit of the Year for the second year running. Go Pro took out Surfing Accessory of the Year and Surfboard of the Year went to JS Industries "Monsta" model, which Joel Parkinson rode to a World Title last year.

"What a fantastic night to bring our industry together, we are really honoured winning back to back awards for Sunglass of the Year" said Oakley Australia's Damian Campbell.

Judged categories saw Etnies win the Environment Award, Quiksilver took out the Online Channel Brand of the Year and Product Innovation went to GoPro.

Retail categories kicked off with Southern Man judged as the Shop Fitout of the Year. The Retailer of the Year categories saw JT Surf take out South Australian Retailer of the Year for the Second year in a row while JR's Collonades picked up the Single Store Retailer of the Year for South Australia.

Victorian winners were Mordys Surf, taking out the Victorian Retailer of the Year and Hodgy's Surf Centre the Single Store Retailer of the Year. NSW Retail Awards went to Wicks Surf for Single Store Retailer of the Year and Saltwater Wine won NSW Retailer of the Year for the second year running.

The hotly contested Core Boardstore of the Year went to Cooly Surf and National Chain Retailer of the Year was taken out by SDS.

The big retail winners were Last Wave Watersports winning both Single Store and Retailer of the Year for Queensland and Todd Taylor's Corner Surf winning both Single Store and Retailer of the Year for WA.

The highlight of the evening was the founders of Quiksilver, Billabong and Rip Curl recognized with the 2013 Service to the Industry Award. Gordon Merchant from Billabong, Brian Singer and Doug Warbrick from Rip Curl were on hand to receive their awards. "It was really special to acknowledge the founders for their contribution to the industry and sport of surfing. To see them receive a standing ovation was definitely the highlight for me" enthused SRF President Anthony Wils

Click here to view the complete list of award recepients