IASC’s 4th Annual Skateboarding Hall Of Fame Inductees & Icon Awards Recipients


PRESS RELEASE: Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif. (March 2013) – The International Association of Skateboard Companies (IASC) and the International Skateboarding Hall of Fame (ISHOF) are proud to announce this year’s Skateboarding Hall of Fame inductees: Woody Woodward (1960s), Tom Sims (1970s, Era One), Alan “Ollie” Gelfand (1970s, Era Two), Rodney Mullen (1980s, Era One), Christian Hosoi (1980s, Era Two), and two women – Wendy Bearer Bull (1960s) and Laura Thornhill Caswell (1970s). This year’s Icon Award recipients are pioneering skateboard photographer Warren Bolster, who revived Skateboarder Magazine in the 1970s; NHS and the crew who built it into what it is today – Richard Novak, Jay Shuirman, Bob Denike, Tim Piumarta and Jeff Kendall – and Devo, a band with the non-conformist attitude that has been inspiring skateboarders since the 1970s.

This year’s awards ceremony is open to the public and will be held during the IASC Summit from 6 p.m. to 10 p.m. May 9th, 2013 at the Sheraton Park Hotel in Anaheim, Calif. Early bird sales will be extended until March 26th. Tickets are available online: http://bit.ly/2013shof.

Created in 2009, The Skateboarding Hall of Fame recognizes and honors the history of skateboarding and those influential figures who have significantly shaped skateboarding and our culture throughout the years. The night will include a Happy Hour, VIP meet-and-greet, VIP dinner and Awards Ceremony. All proceeds benefit the not-for-profit efforts of the Skateboarding Hall of Fame and the Go Skateboarding Foundation’s Just One Board initiative.

“It’s been a huge honor working with Lance Mountain and the rest of the Hall of Fame nomination committee to put together this year’s event,” said Josh Friedberg, Executive Director of IASC. “We’ve got a bigger, better location with an amazing class of inductees. I have no doubt that this will be the best Skateboarding Hall of Fame and Icon Awards Ceremony yet.”

Selection for the Skateboarding Hall of Fame isn’t wholly determined by seasons, contest results or stats. Above all else, innovation and creativity are honored in the constant evolution of skateboarding. In the quest to make the Hall of Fame the best it can be, the nomination committee has voted to add three new categories of inductees this year. To honor the pioneering women skateboarders, they are adding two categories for women this year – 60s and 70s. On the men’s side they are splitting the 70s and 80s into two categories, each along generational shifts in skateboarding. The 90’s category resumes inductions in 2015.

Current Inductees:

Bruce Logan, Torger Johnson, Danny Bearer, Tony Alva, Stacy Peralta, Jay Adams, Tony Hawk, Steve Caballero, Mark Gonzales, Danny Way, Eric Koston, Bob Burnquist , Patti McGee, Peggy Oki

Current Icons:

CR Stecyk, Larry Stevenson, John Humphrey, Frank Nasworthy, Glen E. Friedman, Black Flag

The Skateboarding Hall of Fame and Icon Awards Ceremony is a production of the International Association of Skateboard Companies’ Go Skateboarding Foundation under license from the International Skateboarding Hall of Fame™.

About IASC

The International Association of Skateboard Companies is the member-owned not-for-profit trade association of skateboarding. The mission of the IASC is to represent the global skateboarding community with a united voice by listening, understanding and acting on the needs of skateboarders and the skateboard industry. IASC’s goals are to promote skateboarding, increase participation, educate and save our members money. IASC serves its members and the skateboarding community by focusing on areas that affect not only the business but the overall sustainability and health of skateboarding as a whole. For more information please visit: http://theiasc.org/


The International Skateboarding Hall of Fame was created to honor the passion, dedication and contributions to skateboarding history and culture by skateboarders and cultural icons throughout the decades. The Skateboarding Hall of Fame is located in Simi Valley, Calif.

About Just One Board

Just One Board is a skateboard-recycling program created by the International Association of Skateboard Companies charitable arm, the Go Skateboarding Foundation, to benefit underprivileged youth, engage skateboarders with their local community, support skateboard retailers and serve as the base of a campaign promoting the positive power of skateboarding. For more information please visit: http://justoneboard.org/