Surfer Poll 2013 Nominees Announced

2013 Surfer Poll


PRESS RELEASE – SAN CLEMENTE, Calif. (Nov. 27, 2013) — With just over a week until the biggest night in surfing, SURFER Magazine is pleased to announce the 2013 SURFER Poll video nominees.

Every year, SURFER Magazine pores over the films and shorts produced in the previous calendar year, and narrows down the best movies and performances. This year, there were so many noteworthy sessions and performances caught on tape, we’ve expanded the number of nominees in several categories to accommodate.

Also this year, for the first time in SURFER Poll history, we opened up the Worst Wipeout category to our SURFER readers, allowing them to vote online for the most harrowing wipeout and ultimately choose the winner.

Here are the 2013 SURFER Poll nominees:

Best Barrel

Dave Wassel, Tahiti, from Tropically Yours

Josh Kerr, Kirra, from Kirra 13

Didier Tinhin, Tahiti, from Tropically Yours

Randall Paulson, Pipeline, from Forecast Barrels

Craig Anderson, Skeleton Bay, form Slow Dance

Jordy Smith, Mozambique, from Now Now

John Florence, Tahiti, from Done


Worst Wipeout

Nakoa Decoite, Jaws, from Buttermilk Biscuits

Alain Riou, Teahupoo, from Tropically Yours

Peter Craig, Mullaghmore, Ireland, from Hallow Week

Tom Dosland, Jaws, from Buttermilk Biscuits

Adam D’Esposito, Teahupoo, from Tropically Yours

Tereva David, Teahupoo, from Tropically Yours


Heavy Water

Mark Healey

Kohl Christensen

Koa Rothman

Shane Dorian

Ian Walsh

Shawn Dollar

Greg Long

Carlos Burle

Grant “Twiggy” Baker

Garrett McNamara


Best Documentary

The North Canyon, directed by Gustavo Neves

Uncharted Waters, directed by Craig Griffin

Hawaiian: The Legend of Eddie Aikau, directed by Sam George

The Ductumentary, directed by Graham Nash and Reagan Richie


Best Short

Now Now, directed by Jacob Wooden

Highline, directed by Ryan Perry

Abyss, directed by Jay Grant

Begin Again, directed by Blake Kueny

Ice Cream, directed by Joe G

Nti Sheeto, directed by Dion Agius


Best Performance

Mick Fanning, Anything Sing

John Florence, Done

Craig Anderson, Slow Dance

Conner Coffin, Highline

Jordy Smith, Now Now

Shane Dorian, Anything Sing


Movie of the Year

Tropically Yours, directed by David Malcolm

Uncharted Waters, directed by Craig Griffin

Done, directed by Blake Kueny

Slow Dance, directed by Dane Reynolds

Hawaii: The Legend of Eddie Aikau, directed by Sam George

The 2013 SURFER Poll, which will be broadcast live from Turtle Bay on Dec. 6 beginning at 7 p.m. HST, will also include awards for the Top 10 Men and Top 5 Women, as well as A.I. Breakthrough Performer and Agent of Change.

For more information about SURFER Poll, click here.

Special thanks to SURFER Magazine partners FIAT, GoPro, House of Marley, KRU 82 Vodka, Leatherman, Martin Guitars, Red Bull, Turtle Bay Resort, and Oceanic Time Warner Cable for bringing the biggest night in surfing to life.



In 1960, SURFER Magazine began as the original. After a long history of delivering provocative and insightful editorial features, revealing interviews and award winning state-of-the-art photography, SURFER remains the authoritative voice of the surfing world and thus earned the moniker “the bible of the sport.” The SURFER brand has also grown to include, Fantasy Surfer, and the SURFER message boards. All of these assets combine to make the SURFER network the most current and reliable channel of information to the surf community. The magazine is published by Source Interlink’s GrindMedia, which reaches more than 22-million active sports enthusiasts through an integrated network of magazines, online properties, events and television programming. To learn more, visit

About GrindMedia

Source Interlink Media’s GrindMedia is the world’s largest action/adventure/outdoor media company, with 29 leading media assets featuring brands such as, SURFER, SURFING, TransWorld SKATEboarding, Bike, POWDER, TransWorld Motocross, Snowboarder, Canoe & Kayak and more. GrindMedia reaches more than 40 million engaged consumers every month through its print, online, mobile, TV/video and events. Delivering significant reach across both action sports enthusiast and various in-market consumer audiences, GrindMedia also produces more than 40 leading events and webcasts such as Surfer Poll Awards, TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards, Powder Video Awards, Lowers Pro and EnduroCross. GrindMedia is also the exclusive action and adventure sports content provider for Yahoo! Sports. To learn more, visit