Billabong Junior Pro

East Coast Surfers Dominate Billabong Junior Pro Event

The second of four Billabong USA Junior Pro qualifying events was held at Ramp 34, Avon onthe Outer Banks, North Carolina on 15 August 2000. A combination of groundswell fromhurricane Alberto and an offshore low provided contestable 3′ waves for the event. Despite astrong presence of red hot juniors from California and Hawaii in the line-up, it was the EastCoast contingent who thrived in the smaller conditions to gain five of the eight semifinal slots.

Hot East Coast junior Eric Taylor was the undefeated surfer of the day, with a full house of heatwins en route to victory. Under sunny skies with light offshore winds fanning the peaks, Taylorwas fast and loose throughout the contest, pushing fellow Floridian Gabe Kling into secondplace by a clear two points. US Open standout trialist Dustin Barca from Hawaii surfed to adisappointing third place in the testing waves, with unseeded Justin Jones (Florida) takingfourth. In the ten man expression session heat, Che Stang (California) took out the “bestcutback” award, while Cam Powell (Virginia Beach) excelled by winning both the “best air” andthe “most futuristic move” awards.

Two events remain on the Billabong USA Junior Tour before the World Champs; the RonnieBurns memorial event at Kewalos Honolulu Sept 1-7, and T-Street San Clemente Sept 30-Oct 1which is part of the Billabong Soul in the Bowl festival. A top 6 placing on the ASP NorthAmerican Junior ratings will gain contestants an invitation to the Billabong Junior WorldChampionships 2000, to be held at Makaha on the West Side of Oahu, Hawaii in earlyNovember. 48 contestants will compete in the three day event with a waiting period fromOctober 31 to November 10 2000. 1999 Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay 2000 WCT event winnerJoel Parkinson won the inaugural world championship event held at Honolua Bay Maui lastyear.

Official Results of Billabong Junior Pro Outer Banks, North Carolina

1st Eric Taylor, Florida $1,500
2nd Gabe Kling, Florida $1,000
3rd Dustin Barca ,Hawaii $700
4th Justin Jones, Florida $500
=5th Peter Labrador Hawaii, Brendan Petticrew Virginia Beach $350
=7th Dane Johnson California, Dylan Stone North Carolina $300