KTM Race Report – Millville Motocross

The KTM Factory riders had a spill of bad luck at the 7th round of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship Series at the Spring Creek Motocross Park over the weekend.

Jagermeister/KTM rider Mike Alessi had decent practice times making for a good gate pick heading into moto one. He had a good jump off the start but crashed when a rider in front of him went down in the first turn. He recovered near the end of the pack and came across the first lap in 33rd position. From there he set out to pass as many riders as he could. After five laps he had worked up to 20th and by the final lap he climbed to 15th.

The second moto was much smoother for Alessi. He had a top ten start and came around 8th the first lap. He passed Kyle Chisholm for 7th on the second lap and then passed Ryan Sipes for 6th place by the fourth lap. He lost a position to Josh Grant on the fifth lap but got the position back after Tommy Hahn crashed a few laps later. Around the tenth lap, Alessi accidentally stalled his motorcycle and lost four positions. He completed that lap in 10th. On lap fifteen he again passed Chisholm for 9th and inherited 8th place on the final lap when Josh Grant crashed. His 15-8 moto scores earned him 11th overall for the day.

FMF/KTM rider Tommy Searle made his return at Millville after sitting out the last two rounds with a nagging shoulder injury. Searle started decent in the first moto and was battling inside the top ten off the start. “I felt pretty good on the bike but my endurance isn’t quite back since my time off so I faded a little bit at the end,” remarked Searle about his first moto where he eventually finished 11th.

Searle earned a mid-pack start in the second moto and checked in at 13th after the first lap. He slowly climbed through the pack as the race progressed and was able to pass up to 9th place before settling in a pace. His 11-9 results earned 9th overall for the day.

Next Race: Washougal Motocross – July 24, 2010

Overall Results 450 Class –

  1. Ryan Dungey (1-1)
  2. Andrew Short (3-3)
  3. Kyle Regal (8-2)
  4. Kevin Windham (5-4)
  5. Ben Townley (4-5)
  6. Josh Grant (2-10)
  7. Ryan Sipes (9-7)
  8. Kyle Chisholm (7-9)
  9. Brett Metcalfe (16-6)
  10. Nick Wey (11-11)
  11. Mike Alessi (15-8)
  12. Kyle Cunningham (10-13)
  13. Justin Brayton (14-12)
  14. Thomas Hahn (6-28)
  15. Steven Clarke (12-19)

Overall Results 250 Class –

  1. Trey Canard (2-1)
  2. Dean Wilson (6-2)
  3. Tyla Rattray (4-4)
  4. Jake Weimer (3-5)
  5. Christophe Pourcel (1-10)
  6. Blake Wharton (5-7)
  7. Broc Tickle (7-6)
  8. Justin Barcia (16-3)
  9. Tommy Searle (11-9)
  10. Alex Martin (8-15)
  11. Eli Tomac (13-11)
  12. Travis Baker (9-16)
  13. Martin Davalos (15-12)
  14. Darryn Durham (39-8)
  15. Nico Izzi (10-38)

Overall Results Women’s Class –

  1. Jessica Patterson (1-2)
  2. Ashley Fiolek (3-1)
  3. Tarah Geiger (2-4)
  4. Vicki Golden (4-3)
  5. Sarah Whitmore (9-5)
  6. Mariana Balbi (8-6)
  7. Sara Price (7-7)
  8. Jacqueline Strong (6-8)
  9. Penni Cyrus (10-10)
  10. Erica Cook (11-12)