Ryan Villopoto wins Houston Supercross, increases lead over Bubba

Ryan Villopoto

Ryan Villopoto was able to overcome a brutal crash and win the 450cc Supercross class in Houston. Photo courtesy Kardas/Transworld Moto

After wrapping up the East Coast leg of the 2014 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series, racers landed in Houston with just a few stops left. Held at Reliant Stadium, whose track had a challenging layout, the race saw plenty of riders suffer crashes, including eventual 450cc class winner Ryan Villopoto. Here's TransWorld Motocross' spin on Villopoto's win:

"Throughout the day, defending champion Ryan Villopoto struggled with the track conditions, crashing in timed qualifying and in his heat race. The crash in his heat race was the worst of it, though, as RV hit the deck hard, landing on his head and right shoulder. He remounted and used the heat race to sort himself out before returning in his semi race, where he took a convincing win. In the main event, the three-time champion proved to everyone why he has the No. 1 plate, as he took the early lead and promptly checked out. No one could even come close to him in the main event."

With his win, Villopoto extended his points lead over James "Bubba" Stewart, who finished fifth in Houston. With just three races left (Seattle; East Rutherford, New Jersey; and Las Vegas), the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series championship is coming down to the wire with two of the sport's biggest names gunning for the title.

Ryan Villopoto

James “Bubba” Stewart was hindered by a stomach virus and bad start, yet still managed a fifth-place finish behind victor Ryan Villopoto in Texas. Photo courtesy Kardas/Transworld Moto

Houston Supercross 450cc Main Event Results
1. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)
2. Justin Barcia (Honda)
3. Ken Roczen (KTM)
4. Trey Canard (Honda)
5. James Stewart (Suzuki)
6. Andrew Short (KTM)
7. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
8. Mike Alessi (Suzuki)
9. Eli Tomac (Honda)
10. Chris Blose (Honda)

Championship point standings following Houston Supercross (points/season wins)
1. Ryan Villopoto (293/4 wins)
2. James Stewart (248/5 wins)
3. Ryan Dungey (247/1 win)
4. Ken Roczen (235/2 wins)
5. Justin Barcia (198)
6. Justin Brayton (196)
7. Andrew Short (181)
8. Broc Tickle (126)
9. Wil Hahn (122)
10. Josh Hill (112)

For more Supercross news, photos, videos, and results, head over to motocross.transworld.net/supercross.

More from GrindTV

James 'Bubba' Stewart wins St. Louis Supercross

Rookie Supercross rider Wil Hahn survives terrifying crash

James Stewart wins his 49th career Supercross race

Follow GrindTV on Google+