15th Annual Surf For The Sea

2011 Surf For The Sea

The 15th Annual Surf for the Sea will take place on Saturday and Sunday, September 10 & 11, 2011 at the North Jetty Oceanside Harbor. Surf for the Sea is a commemorative surfing event in loving memory of the the late Harry Bennett, Steve Leighton, Tore Bonura, Chuck "Clubber" Hundley, Banning Capps, Court Overin, John Craven, Midget Smith, Casey Williams, and Chris Pompa all local surfers who have passed away.

This is a memorial benefit for the Surfrider Foundation, San Diego Chapter and other Environmental Organizations helping to protect our coast, ocean, waves and beaches. Trophies will be awarded in 13 divisions. The entry fee is $40 for amateur and $80 for the Pro/Am Division. All competitors receive an event T-shirt, lunch catered by local restaurant great Johnny
Manana's and a chance at the opportunity raffle including surfboards, wetsuits, and great prizes provided
by the surfing industry. Surf for the Sea also includes a Beach Clean-Up that ties into the theme of
environmental awareness. Entry blanks are available in Oceanside at Johnny Manana's Restaurant,
Asylum Surf Shop, K-5 Surfshop, Surfride Surf Shop, and Byrne & Chemistry Surfboards as well
as on-line at www.surfridersd.org, www.surfwsa.org, and www.seasister.com.

For further information on this event and how you can become a sponsor, please
contact contest director Carolyn Krammer at (760) 439-0863 or e-mail carolnoceanside@cs.com.