2007 ISA Individual Scholarship Recipients Named

San Diego, California, Tuesday, January 9, 2007: The ISA is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2007 ISA Individual Scholarships. We received over 20 applications for the scholarship program and had to narrow it down to five recipients. After careful review, the ISA Executive Committee chose to award Guillermo Satt (Chile), Imani Wilmot (Jamaica), Deigo Vargas Silva (Ecuador), Ariel Aguero (Costa Rica) and Lungani Memani (South Africa) with $1,200 scholarships each.

The applicants were chosen based on their strong desire to become involved in surfing on an international level and preference was given to surfers competing in the junior level of ISA competition. All applicants were required to submit proof of current student standings with report cards or academic records of the last two years, sign an oath stating that they will remain a student if chosen as a recipient of a scholarship, submit a plan of how they wish to use the money, provide a letter of recommendation written by their NGB President and write an essay, “Why I Deserve an ISA Individual Surf Scholarship.

After reviewing many strong applications, the ISA Executive Committee came to a unanimous decision on the recipients.
The Individual Scholarship Program’s main objective is to provide funds to facilitate experience in surfing while encouraging the importance of education. Each recipient will be awarded $1,200 which may be used to travel to surf contests, buy new surf equipment and support an education. The ISA hopes that the scholarship will help enable these young surfers to follow their dreams by using the support to become better surfers, potential national champions and even possibly world champions while at the same time continuing with their education.

About International Surfing Association (ISA):
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as the World Governing Authority for surfing, bodyboarding and surfriding. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running world championships since 1964 and the Junior World Championships since 1980.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies (NGBs) of over 50 countries on six continents. Its headquarters are located in San Diego, California. It is presided by Fernando Aguerre, first elected in 1994 in Rio, and re-elected five times since. The ISA’s four Vice Presidents are Alan Atkins (Australia), Robin de Kock (South Africa), Maile Aguerre (Hawaii) and Mike Gerard (USA).