2.7 Australian Jake Paterson Takes Billabong MSF Pro Title At J-Bay

Australian Jake Paterson
Takes Billabong MSF Pro Title At J-Bay

In three- to four-foot offshore conditions at Jeffreys Bay, South Africa, Australian Jake Paterson defeated Brazilian Peterson Rosa for the victory in the Billabong MSF Pro held June 29¿July 7.

Paterson surfed a total of four rounds en route to his second World Championship Tour (WCT) victory. The day started at 7:45 a.m. for the current World Number Four, up against Hawai’ian Shane Dorian in the last remaining fourth round heat. He then faced defending Billabong MSF Pro champion Joel Parkinson in a repeat of their 1999 quarterfinal. This time, however, the win went to Paterson, who then eliminated Brazilian Flavio Padaratz in the semifinals, before taking out Rosa in the grand finale.

“Oh, yeeaahhh!” exclaimed an out-of-breath, elated Paterson as he was carried up the beach by some of his fellow Australian competitors. “Give me a second to think about what just happened,” he laughed. “I’m so stoked. I just put everything together. The chess match is finally over¿checkmate! I couldn’t have asked for anything better.”

“He had priority and was a little far out,” Paterson elaborated in regard to his winning nine-point ride against Rosa. “I took off and raced a bit, then did a big hack turn before a little ledge came over, and I knew it was make or break time. I just held my rail and came through. I’m stoked it went flat for ten minutes at the end!

“I’ve had a shocker in the last three events,” continued the Australian. “My consistency has just been up the creek, but I’m just stoked to get another win. I haven’t had one since Pipe 1998 Pipeline Masters in Hawai’i. To win a WCT is just insane.”

Official Results Of Billabong MSF Pro Final Day

1.Jake Paterson
2.Peterson Rosa
3. (tie) Nathan Webster, Flavio Padaratz
5. (tie) Luke Egan, Richie Lovett, Damien Hobgood, Joel Parkinson

Current WCT Ratings As Of The Billabong MSF Pro
1.Sunny Garcia
2.Luke Egan
3.Flavio Padaratz
4.Jake Paterson
5.Cory Lopez
6.Jake Peterson
7.Taj Burrow
8.Mark Occhilupo
9.Shane Dorian
10. Nathan Webster