3 To The Beach – 2001 WQS Quiksilver Pro

The 2001 WQS Quiksilver Pro Erupts
In An Aerial Frenzy!

The 2001 Quiksilver Pro at Burleigh Heads/Duranbah started out as a right point tube-dwelling pump session and ended as a no-holds-barred, rocket-powered air session. The trials were held in overhead perfection with two days at Kirra, two days at Burleigh, and the last two days at the ultra-wedge, Duranbah.

The WQS’s young contingency came out in full-force with the new Aussie wave of frothers busting down the door-again. A bunch of great performances went down in the early, but all those guys lost before anyone really cared. The real shit went down in the semis and finals with Taj Burrow, Dean Morrison, Mick Fanning, Occy, Zane Harrison, Parko, and Presso all surfing excellently.

The big story, however, was the amount of airs landed in the final. Taj Burrow was a madman, launching high and tight airs on each scoring wave he had in the final. He threw in variations of grabs and spins to capture the win and show the world that air surfing is functional and a hell of a lot more exciting than the standard “top-turn-I-hope-I-don’t-fall” bullshit we’ve been seeing all these years. Good on ya, Taj!-C.C.