6.0 Lowers Pro Lures Big Names To Lowers

Nat Young. Photo courtesy ASP

Nat Young. Photo courtesy ASP

Slater, Reynolds, Buchan, Bourez, De Souza, Andre, Payne and More

SAN CLEMENTE, Calif., April 18, 2011 – Many of the top names in surfing will hit the famed cobblestones of Trestles on May 3-7, 2011, for the 6.0 Lowers Pro. The stakes: a chance to win the coveted 14-karat solid gold railroad spike, a $40,000 first-place payout, and vital points to maintain their ASP rankings. With an increased prize purse of $250,000, a $30,000 gold trophy, and major Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) PRIME points on the line, the 6.0 Lowers Pro will be an event few surfers will want to miss.

Twenty-seven of the top ASP World Title surfers are entered in the 96-man field of the 6.0 Lowers Pro.  Standouts include 10-time defending World Champion and current ASP #1 Kelly Slater as well as: #3 Tiago Pires (PRT), #5 Brett Simpson (Huntington Beach, CA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA) and Dusty Payne (Wahiawa, HI) and #9 Adrian Buchan (AUS), Michel Bourez (PYF) and Adriano De Souza (BRA). Jadson Andre (BRA) and Julian Wilson (AUS) currently tied at #13, and Dane Reynolds (Ventura, CA), Patrick Gudauskas (San Clemente, CA) and defending 6.0 Lowers Pro Champion Gabe Kling, all tied at #24 are also in the mix.

The 6.0 Lowers Pro is the first of only three PRIME contests in North America. The ASP's relatively new PRIME designation, the highest possible rating with the most available points, is limited to only a few superior competition venues around the world. The significant points on offer are particularly attractive to competitors in the ASP World Title race who are trying to re-qualify for next year's Dream Tour.

A bevy of top young talent will also be on hand for the upgraded ASP five-star Oakley Pro Junior, which will run concurrently. The Oakley Pro Junior will see 32 men (20 years and younger) battling for ASP regional ratings points to qualify for the World Junior Tour events. Those to watch include 2010 North American Champion Nat Young (Santa Cruz, CA), current North American #1 Kolohe Andino (San Clemente, CA), #2 Conner Coffin (Santa Barbara, CA), #3 Luke Davis (Capo Beach, CA) and #4 Evan Geiselman (New Smyrna Beach, FL). Andrew Doheny (Newport Beach, CA) will be back to defend his big win from last year and the international contingent includes 2010 World Junior Champion Jack Freestone (AUS), Caio Ibelli (BRA), Shaun Joubert (ZAF), Kaito Ohashi (JPN) and Frederico Morais (PRT).

Both the 6.0 Lowers Pro and Oakley Pro Junior will feature an HD webcast with live video coverage and scoring for all five days of competition with announcers Sal Masekela, Mark Fewell, Dino Andino, Saxon Boucher, Chris Mauro, Brad Gerlach and Jodie Nelson.

For more information about the 6.0 Lowers Pro, visit nike6lowerspro.com. For more about the Oakley Pro Junior, visit oakleyprojunior.com.