$75K Oakley Pro Junior Global Challenge Championship Hits Bali Oct. 7-17

Sebastian Zietz

Sebastian ‘Sebass’ Zietz. Photo courtesy Oakley/Matt Kennedy

A field of only 18 top juniors will vie for a $20k first-place prize check

Foothill Ranch, Calif., Sept. 25, 2008 – The Oakley Pro Junior Global Challenge Championships will hit Bali, Indonesia, October 7-17. The final event, the culmination of a six-event international series for junior men, offers a $75,000 cash prize purse in addition to the $163,000 the series has already doled out via the qualifying events. A small field of 18 of the world’s best juniors will compete in a man-on-man WCT-style format for a chance at the $20,000 first-place prize, the richest Pro Junior in the world. The primary competition venue will be based at Keramus with an option to go mobile based on conditions.

In its inaugural year, the 2008 Oakley Pro Junior Global Challenge has traveled the globe since February. With a total of six events for junior surfers to qualify, the Global Challenge Championship will connect four days of competition during a 10-day waiting period, October 7-17 in Bali, Indonesia. The series kicked off at North Stradbroke, Queensland, Australia, followed by, New Pier, Durban, South Africa; Lower Trestles, San Clemente, Calif., USA; Itamambuca Beach, Ubatuba City, Sao Paulo, Brazil; Shidashita Point, Chiba, Japan and Grand Plage, Lacanua, Gironde, France.

“We wanted to give junior surfers the opportunity to surf at some of the greatest surf spots the world has to offer and give them solid international contest exposure,” says Oakley Surf Marketing Manager Ronny Nelson. “We’re really happy with the lineup that has emerged for the Oakley Global Challenge Championships and can’t wait to see how this unique showdown of the world’s greatest juniors goes down.”

The Oakley Pro Junior Global Challenge qualifiers:

1. Lincoln Taylor (QLD)
2. Mitch Crews (QLD)*
1. Shaun Joubert (SAF)
2. Nick Godfrey (SAF)
1. Sebastian Zietz (HI)
2. Jason Harris (USA)
1. Peterson Crisanto (BRA)
2. Franklin Serpa (BRA)**
1. Keito Matsuoka (JPN) 2. Kaito Ohashi (JPN) FRANCE
1. Miguel Pupo (BRA)
2. Marc Lacomare (FRA)

*Mitch Crews replaces Julian Wilson who is out due to injury
**Franklin Serpa replaces Thiago Camarao

In addition to the 12 qualifiers, six wildcards will round out the field of 18 competitors. Five top juniors have been awarded wildcards, and one local Balinese surfer will get the final spot based on the outcome of a local trial the week prior to the event. Wildcards were chosen based on their performance throughout the year with the goal of ensuring a well-rounded group of the world’s best up-and-coming talent.


1.      Dusty Payne (HI)
2.      Yuki Seedwell (IDN)
3.      Romain Cloitre (FRA)
4.      Billy Stairmand (NZ)
5.      Kai Barger (HI)
6.      TBD from Bali Trials

For more information, updates, photos and video, check out: www.oakleyprojunior.com