Adam Melling pulls off miracle at Sunset to re-qualify

With his back against the wall, needing a second place finish in the event to vault into a qualifying spot for next year’s World Tour, Adam Melling did one better today, winning the Vans World Cup at Sunset Beach.

Perfectly groomed but shifty peaks greeted the event’s final day, which saw several big names fall early. Several elite tour surfers including John John Florence and Kelly Slater lost out early to spotty wave selection.

Triple Crown dark-horse Sebastian Zietz continued his magic run this year, making the final and leading the triple crown ratings going in to Pipeline, which means he will be granted a wildcard.

Lennox Head, Australia’s Adam Melling has had a rough year on tour, failing to make it out of round 3 in any of the nine events run thus far. Going into this Prime-rated event, he was sitting at No. 42 in the world rankings, 10 spots away from contention. With the 6,500 prime points he vaults to 26th, comfortably inside the bubble, taking off some pressure going into the final event at Pipeline. Adam can now scrap whatever he had planned for next year and begin to make his travel plans for the 2013 World Tour.

Photo courtesy ASP

1st –
Adam Melling (AUS) 16.16pts, $40,000
2nd – Gabriel Medina (BRA) 15.67pts, $20,000
3rd – Sebastien Zietz (HAW) 13.70pts, $12,000
4th – Adrian Buchan (AUS) 13.26pts, $10,000

H1 :
Sebastien Zietz (HAW) 13.00pts ; Adrian Buchan (AUS) 12.03pts ; Jesse Mendes (BRA) 10.67pts ; Lincoln Taylor (AUS) 7.30pts
H2 : Gabriel Medina (BRA) 13.00pts ; Adam Melling (AUS) 10.34pts ; Perth Standlick (AUS) 8.26pts ; Alejo Muniz (BRA) 7.33pts

H1 :
Jesse Mendes (BRA) 13.44pts ; Lincoln Taylor (AUS) 12.86pts ; Kieren Perrow (AUS) 11.70 ; Jeremy Flores (FRA) 5.57pts
H2 : Sebastien Zietz (HAW) 15.80pts ; Adrien Buchan (AUS) 14.26pts ; Jamie O’Brien (HAW) 13.86pts ; Michel Bourez (PYF) 12.87pts
H3 : Gabriel Medina (BRA) 15.54pts ; Perth Standlick (AUS) 10.83pts ; Jordy Smith (ZAF) 10.33pts ; Nathan Yeomans (USA) 5.47pts
H4 : Adam Melling (AUS) 18.40pts ; Alejo Muniz (BRA) 15.94pts ; Brett Simpson (USA) 15.70pts ; Ricardo Dos Santos (BRA) 10.13pts

Round of 32
H1 :
Kieren Perrow (AUS) 13.57pts ; Sebastien Zietz (HAW) 11.13pts ; Glenn Hall (IRL) 6.40pts ; Chris Ward (USA) 5.70pts
H2 : Jeremy Flores (FRA) 13.03pts ; Jamie O’Brien (HAW) 10.54pts ; Julian Wilson (AUS) 3.93pts ; Travis Logie (ZAF) 2.33pts
H3 : Michel Bourez (PYF) 13.63pts ; Lincoln Taylor (AUS) 13.16pts ; Taylor Knox (USA) 11.66pts ; Jay Thompson (AUS) 11.37pts
H4 : Adrian Buchan (AUS) 12.60pts ; Jesse Mendes (BRA) 10.10pts ; Kelly Slater (USA) 9.60pts ; Damien Hobgood (USA) 5.94pts
H5 : Perth Standlick (AUS) 17.23pts ; Ricardo Dos Santos (BRA) 13.43pts ; John John Florence (HAW) 11.44pts ; Nat Young (USA) 9.67pts
H6 : Jordy Smith (ZAF) 14.03pts ; Brett Simpson (USA) 11.17pts ; Billy Kemper (HAW) 8.94pts ; CJ Hobgood (USA) 6.50pts
H7 : Alejo Muniz (BRA) 13.97pts ; Nathan Yeomans (USA) 12.76pts ; Marc Lacomare (FRA) 9.43pts ; Sunny Garcia (HAW) 8.20pts
H8 : Adam Melling (AUS) 14.10pts ; Gabriel Medina (BRA) 11.17pts ; Kai Otton (AUS) 10.63pts ; Tanner Gudauskas (USA) 10.33pts

Sebastien Zietz (HAW) 10,950
=2. Adam Melling (AUS) 7,200
=2 Alejo Muniz (BRZ) 7,200
=4. John John Florence (HAW) 6,500
=4. Gabriel Medina (BRA) 6,500.