Another Lay Day On Monday For Billabong Pro At Jeffreys Bay

Defending champ Taj Burrow dealing with the ups and downs of lay days. Photo courtesy ASP Cestari/Covered ImagesJEFFREYS BAY, South Africa (Monday, July 14, 2008) – Round 3 of the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay, Stop No. 5 of 11 on the 2008 ASP World Tour, will not run today. According to official Billabong Pro forecasters Surfline, a new swell should be wrapping its way in Jeffreys Bay this afternoon.

"While we'll start to see some forerunners from this swell slowly build over the afternoon on Monday, the swell looks much better for Tuesday and even into early Wednesday," Kevis Wallis of Surfline said.

Chances that the last two days of competition will be completed over the next three days and a champion will be crowned by Thursday, July 17, are high at this point.

Another call on competition status will be made tomorrow morning at 7.

Visit and for additional information, including videos and photos.

Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay Round 3 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Leonardo Neves (BRA)
Heat 2: Luke Stedman (AUS) vs. Roy Powers (HAW)
Heat 3: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Jay Thompson (AUS)
Heat 4: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Daniel Wills (AUS)
Heat 5: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Mick Campbell (AUS)
Heat 6: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. Luke Munro (AUS)
Heat 7: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 8: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 9: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Ben Bourgeois (USA)
Heat 10: Dayyan Neve (AUS) vs. Bruce Irons (HAW)
Heat 11: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 12: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 13: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Royden Bryson (ZAF)
Heat 14: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs. Jordy Smith (ZAF)
Heat 15: Andy Irons (HAW) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 16: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Chris Ward (USA)