Aritz Aranburu Claims ASP 6-Star In Brazil

Aritz Aranburu Claims ASP 6-Star Maresia Surf International in Brazil


FLORIANOPOLIS, Santa Catarina/Brazil (Sunday, May 23, 2010) – On the decisive heat of the event, Aritz Aranburu took two regular waves to claim the title of Maresia Surf International 2010 in Florianopolis, Santa Catarina, Brazil. The Brazilian Rodrigo Dornelles was second place, finalized the 12.67 x 6.67 points in the good waves at Mole Beach in Sunday.

“I’m so happy. It was a very good event for me, we had some pretty hard days and today everything went right to me,” said Aritz Aranburu, who jumped from 60th to the 35th place on the newASP World Rankings. “Unfortunately, we could not get good waves in the final, I did not surf my best, but that was good enough to win. Rodrigo (Dornelles) is a great surfer and was a pleasure to make the final against him. It’s great to win here in Brazil.”

Rodrigo Dornelles chose to surf on the lefthander, while the surfer from the Basque Country decided for the right. The first wave was just on the regular range for Aritz Aranburu, who scored 5.67. Dornelles risking everything on the waves, but always missing the second maneuver. Aranburu confirming the win in his last wave, when he got a 7.00 pts ride to close the scoring heat in 12.67 x 6.67 points.

“I felt myself lucky during all competition, just lost that feeling now in the final. Even so, I can not complain, but really wish to have won the event,” said Rodrigo Dornelles, which built up from 59th position 76.a for the ASP World Ranking.

“At this heat my opponent was the ocean. I could not do anything else even one turn in any single wave. The only one I could have done better, falling just because I everything in a very strong move and the board took off, so it was not for myself. Okay, I’m happy to make a final heat again,” said Dornelles.

For more photos and ASP news head to

1 –
Aritz Aranburu (EUK) 12.67
2 – Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA) 6.67

SF 1:
Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA) 13.17 def. Gabriel Medina (BRA) 10.94
SF 2: Aritz Aranburu (EUK) 12.40 def. Caio Ibelli (BRA) 11.17

QF 1:
Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA) 8.77 def. Robson Santos (BRA) 10.94
QF 2: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 10.90 def. Sebastien Zietz (HAW) 10.33
QF 3: Caio Ibelli (BRA) 9.26 def. Pedro Henrique (BRA) 10.33
QF 4: Aritz Aranburu (EUK) 11.93 def. Leandro Bastos (BRA) 10.33