ASP International Announces 2007 Tour Events And Schedule

COOLANGATTA, AUSTRALIA: (January 11, 2007) — The Association Of Surfing Professionals International (ASP) has confirmed the locations and dates for its premium world championship deciding tours — the Foster’s ASP World Tour and the ASP Women’s World Tour — and are proud that in 2007 the world’s best surfers will again be competing in the world’s best waves.

Once again spectators will be privy to watching the sport’s ultimate athletes as they travel to only the most exotic surf destinations on the planet with both premium tours serving up similar event lineups to 2006 with only the Fijian events in doubt due to political instability in the region.

“It looks like it’s going to be another killer year for pro surfing, said ASP International CEO Brodie Carr. “It’s great to see that once again we are able to have such esteemed events slotted in on the 2007 calendar and I’m sure that one and all will be blown away by watching our athletes tackle the best waves this planet can offer.

Regarding the situation in Fiji, Carr indicated that ASP, Roxy (women’s) and Globe (men’s) are on standby and all parties are monitoring the political situation daily before committing to hosting their events on the island of Tavarua.

“We will continue to monitor the political situation in Fiji daily, said Carr. “At present insurance issues due to the unrest in late 2006 have forced us into the unlikely position of having the Roxy Pro Fiji and Globe Pro on standby, but a confirmation of the outcomes of both will be forthcoming soon.

The 2007 cast for both tours has also been confirmed with many of both tours’ old guard being replaced by a swag of exciting up and coming youngsters.

The new faces on the Foster’s ASP World Tour will include Jeremy Flores (FRA), Ricky Basnett (ZAF), Roydon Bryson (ZAF), Dayyan Neve (AUS), Josh Kerr (AUS), Ben Dunn (AUS), Gabe Kling (USA), Leonardo Neves (BRA), Kai Otton (AUS) and Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA).

Making a return to surfing’s elite men’s tour after a hiatus will be former world number two Mick Campbell (AUS), plus Neco Padaratz (BRA) and Bernardo Miranda (BRA).

On the women’s front, 2007 will see Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) Caroline Sarran(FRA) and Roseanne Hodge (ZAF) make their tour debuts with Melanie Bartels (HAW) and Amee Donohoe (AUS) enjoying a welcome return to the fold.

Stay tuned to for all your pro surfing information.

Foster’s ASP World Tour Schedule

ASP BanquetGold Coast, AustraliaFeb 24
Quiksilver ProSnapper Rocks Qld, AustraliaFeb 27-Mar 10
Rip Curl ProBells Beach Vic, AustraliaApr 3-13
Billabong ProTeahupoo, TahitiMay 4-14
Globe Pro FijiTBCMay 20-21
Rip Curl Pro SearchSomewhere in ChileJune 20-July1
Billabong ProJeffreys Bay, South AfricaJuly 11-22
Boost Mobile ProTrestles, CaliforniaSep 11-15
Quiksilver Pro FranceHossegor, FranceSep 22-Oct 1
Billabong ProMundaka, Basque Region, SpainOct 2-14
Nova Schin FestivalImbituba, BrazilOct 29-Nov 7
Billabong Pipe MastersPipeline Hawaii Dec 8-20

ASP Women’s World Tour Schedule
Roxy ProSnapper Rocks, AustraliaFeb 27-Mar 10
Rip Curl ProBells Beach, AustraliaApr 3-8
Roxy ProTBCApr 21-26
Billabong Girls Praia da Tiririca, Itacare, BrazilAug 20-27
Rip Curl Girls Festival Santander, Liencres-SpainSep 4-9
Havaiianas Beachley ClassicManly Beach, AustraliaOct 8-14
Roxy ProSunset Beach, HawaiiNov 23-Dec 6
Billabong ProHonalua Bay, HawaiiDec 8-20

The 2007 Foster’s ASP World Tour Lineup
Kelly Slater (USA)
Andy Irons (HAW)
Mick Fanning (AUS)
Taj Burrow (AUS)
Bobby Martinez (USA)
Joel Parkinson (AUS)
Damien Hobgood (USA)
Tom Whitaker (AUS)
Taylor Knox (USA)
Dean Morrison (AUS)
Tim Reyes (USA)
Phillip MacDonald (AUS)
Cory Lopez (USA)
Bruce Irons (HAW)
Bede Durbidge (AUS) <
C.J. Hobgood (USA)
Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Daniel Wills (AUS)
Greg Emslie (ZAF)
Adriano de Souza (BRA)
Chris Ward (USA)
Travis Logie (ZAF)
Michael Lowe (AUS)
Luke Stedman (AUS)
Mark Occhilupo (AUS)
Pancho Sullivan (HAW)
Jeremy Flores (FRA)
Michael Campbell (AUS)
Ricky Basnett (ZAF)
Royden Bryson (ZAF)
Dayyan Neve (AUS)
Troy Brooks (AUS)
Neco Padaratz (BRA)
Josh Kerr (AUS)
Ben Dunn (AUS)
Bernado Miranda (BRA)
Gabe Kling (USA)
Victor Ribas (BRA)
Leonardo Neves (BRA)
Kai Otton (AUS)
Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA)
Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Luke Munro (AUS)

Trent Munro (AUS)
David Weare (ZAF)
Peterson Rosa (BRA)

2007 ASP Women’s World Tour Lineup
Layne Beachley (AUS)
Melanie Redman-Carr (AUS)
Chelsea Georgeson (AUS)
Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS)
Sofia Mulanovich (PER)
Rebecca Woods (AUS)
Claire Bevilacqua (AUS)
Silvana Lima (BRA)
Megan Abubo (HAW)
Rochelle Ballard (HAW) *
Samantha Cornish (AUS)
Jacqueline Silva (BRA)
Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)
Melanie Bartels (HAW)
Amee Donohoe (AUS)
Caroline Sarran (FRA)
Roseanne Hodge (ZAF)