ASP World Surfing Awards kicks off 2011 season in Australia

Last night at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre in Queensland Australia, the otherwise mangy gang of surf bums that comprise the ASP top 32 were forced to comb their hair and borrow that suit from dad. The occasion for this spectacle was the 2011 ASP Surfing Awards, an event which celebrates the accomplishments of last season, and serves as the kickoff for the upcoming season, which commenced today at Snapper Rocks. There were some emotional moments, none more so than Kelly Slater’s acceptance speech which saw the always humble Slater dedicate his tenth title to the late Andy Irons in a tearful speech. Below are the winners from surfing’s big night out.

Awards Recipient List:

2010 ASP World Champion: Kelly Slater (USA)
2010 ASP Women’s World Champion: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)

2010 ASP World Tour Runner-Up: Jordy Smith (ZAF)
2010 ASP Women’s World Tour Runner-Up: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)

2010 ASP World Tour Rookie of the Year: Owen Wright (AUS)
2010 ASP Women’s World Tour Rookie of the Year: Carissa Moore (HAW)

2010 ASP World Tour ‘Breakthrough Performer’: Alejo Muniz (BRA)
2010 ASP Women’s World Tour ‘Breakthrough Performer’: Laura Enever (AUS)

2010 ASP World Longboard Champion: Duane DeSoto (HAW)
2010 ASP Women’s World Longboard Champion: Cori Schumacher (HAW)

2010 ASP World Junior Champion: Jack Freestone (AUS)
2010 ASP Women’s World Junior Champion: Alizee Arnaud (FRA)

Peter Whittaker Award: Carissa Moore (HAW)