Athletes confirmed for 2015 O’Neill Coldwater Classic

2015 O'Neill Coldwater Classic

The surf at Steamer Lane in Santa Cruz is chilly, but the vibe at the Coldwater Classic definitely isn’t. Photo: Prefontaine

The field of competitors for the 2015 O’Neill Coldwater Classic, a World Surf League (WSL) Men’s Qualifying Series (QS) event, has been announced. This year’s event will be held in Santa Cruz, California, Oct. 16-18 and boasts a $50,000 prize purse and 1,500 points up for grabs amongst 96 surfers hoping to qualify for the 2016 World Tour.

Reigning Coldwater Classic champion and current WSL QS #16 Nate Yeomans (San Clemente, California) enters this year’s contest as the top seed. Yeomans also won the event back in 2009 when it was an ASP 6-Star PRIME.

Other notable QS athletes include Tim Reyes (Huntington Beach, California), Cory Arrambide (Ventura, California), Kaito Kino (Honolulu), Manuel Selman (Dominican Republic), Kilian Garland (Santa Barbara, California) and Dylan Goodale (Hanalei, Hawaii).

Santa Cruz-area entrants include Nic Hdez, Shaun Burns, Anthony Ruffo, Randy Bonds, Ben Coffey, Richie Schmidt, Jason “Rat Boy” Collins, Eric Totah and Brogie Panesi.

A local trial will commence on the first morning of competition, offering one winner a wildcard spot into the main competition. Eight local athletes have been invited to compete: Bud Freitas, Jesse Columbo and Adam Replogle from the Eastside; Chad Underhill, Miles Clanton and Joey Hudson from the Westside; and Jimmy Herrick and Wilem Banks from Midtown and Unincorporated.

Since its inception in 1987, the O’Neill Coldwater Classic has been center stage for some of the world’s best surfing talent. The cold, rugged conditions, arena-like setting and local pride surrounding the famed Steamer Lane break have become legendary. Previous winners include Santa Cruz locals Kieran Horn, Adam Replogle, Peter Mel and Nat Young, legends like Martin Potter and Tom Curren and current World Tour standouts Joel Parkinson, Jordy Smith, Matt Wilkenson and Miguel Pupo.

Learn more and follow all of the action including a live webcast at

Special thanks to title sponsor O’Neill as well as co-sponsors and event partners Red Bull, Futures Fins, Watermans Sunscreen, Banzai Bowls, SURFER, Surfline, Hotel Paradox, Cruzio Internet and East Side Eatery for supporting the 2015 O’Neill Coldwater Classic.

More from GrindTV

Specialized Bicycles' head honcho, Mike Sinyard, speaks

Guy builds a working sauna in the back of a van

Vans you can finally wear in winter conditions