Australian Surfing Hall Of Fame Inductees Announced

Doug ‘Claw’ Warbrick To Be Elevated Into Australian Surfing Hall Of Fame

Rip Curl Founder Doug "Claw" Warbrick

Rip Curl Founder Doug "Claw" Warbrick

(Tuesday 16th February, 2010): THE sun, surf and sand will be traded for glitz and glamour with the 2010 edition of the Australian Surfing Awards incorporating the Hall of Fame to be held on the Gold Coast this weekend.

Against a backdrop of surfing luminaries, surf businessman Doug Warbrick will enter the Australian Surfing Hall of Fame as its 32nd inductee. Learning to surf in the 1950's at Currumbin and Maroochydore, Warbrick founded Rip Curl in 1967 with Brian Singer.

Cold water, a love of surfing and some sharp ideas helped Warbrick develop Rip Curl into an iconic international brand and a major sponsor of the sport worldwide. "I feel honoured to learn I am to be inducted into the Australian Surfing Hall of Fame," said Warbrick.

"I feel humbled to join the list of those who have made such rich contributions to our Australian surfing culture." In 1967 he started making surfboards to indulge his passion at Torquay and by 1969 with the help of a vintage sewing machine began running up wet suits.

He is also known as a passionate surf aficionado and is responsible for starting the Bells Beach Surf Classic the Rip Curl Pro in 1973, held during Easter each year at Bells Beach.

Warbrick's other surfing achievements include being an original member of the ASA (now Surfing Australia) in 1963 and was a committee member and V.P of Surfing Victoria in the 1960's and '70's. He was also a founding member of the ASP World Tour and the Surfrider Foundation Australia.

After surfing for over 50 years Warbrick still maintains a fierce passion for everything surfing; the industry, sport, culture, history, contests, free surfing, innovation, travel and adventure, as well as mentoring surfing’s great young talents and witnessing their exceptional performances – plus riding a few secret waves with my mates!

Warbrick's induction is one of a number of awards that will be presented as part of the Australian Surfing Awards.

The Australian Surfing Awards incorporating the Hall of Fame Inductee is to be held at the Coolangatta Hotel on Saturday 20th February and will include the presentation of the Male and Female Surfer of the Year, Rising Star, ASB Surf Industry, Pioneer, Peter Troy Lifestyle, Simon Anderson Premier Club, Stan Couper Administration, Surf Culture, Movie and Photo of the Year awards culminating in the Induction of Warbrick being inducted into the Australian Surfing Hall of Fame.

The awards night will also include the presentation of the Connecting Southern Gold Coast Most Promising Junior and a Life Membership.

Finalists for awards are as follows:

Male Surfer of the Year:
Mick Fanning
Joel Parkinson
Mark Mathews
Owen Wright

Female Surfer of the Year:
Stephanie Gilmore
Sally Fitzgibbons

Rising Star Award:
Owen Wright
Josiah Schmucker
Laura Enever
Dean Bowen

ASB Surf Industry Award:

Transparent Sea Voyage
Rip Curl Planet Days
World Safaris – Contributions to Surf Travel
Sea Shepherd – Ongoing efforts in marine whale conservation
National Surfing Reserves

Stan Couper Administration Award:
Surfing South Australia – Fantastic Noodles Intense Wave Challenge
Mark Windon – Surfing NSW CEO
John Robin – Kirra Surfriders

Pioneer Award:
Patrick Juventin – Shaping Machine Pioneer
Bruce McKee – Quad Fin Innovator
Surfing South Australia – Fantastic Noodles Intense Wave Challenge
Pedra Branca Trip – Ross Clark-Jones and Tom Carroll
Billabong Webcasts

Peter Troy Lifestyle Award:
Kim 'Fly' Bradley – Australian Surfing Pioneer
Colin Gow – Iconic Surfer / Shaper
Greg McDonagh – Surfboard Blank Pioneer
Shane Stedman – Iconic surfer / shaper
Bill Cilia – Iconic surfer / shaper
Brain Cregan – Founder Ocean and Earth International
Garry Birdsall – Surfer / artist
John Witzig – Journalist
Ross Slaven – Torquay surfer / surfing development contributor
Sam Egan – Surfer / shaper

Surf Culture Award:
Visions Exhibition – Surfworld Toquay
Andrew McKinnon – Surfing Journalist
Surfworld Gold Coast – Surf Museum
Bob McTavish – Stoked – Iconic surfer / shaper / author
Andrew Crockett – Switchfoot 2 – Surfing Journalist
Surfing World – 300th Issue – Surfing Magazine
Nick Carroll – Surf Journalist
Sean Scott – Photographer

Simon Anderson Premier Club Award:
Southbridge Boardriders
All Girls Surfriders Club
Cronulla Girls Boardriders
Werri Beach Boardriders

Surf Movie of the Year:
Bombora – The Story of Australian Surfing
Modern Collective
Last Hope
Searching for Michael Peterson
There's no I in Ry

Surf Photo of the Year:
Top 20 photos to be released on the night

The 2010 Australian Surfing Awards incorporating the Hall of Fame is proudly supported by Connecting Southern Gold Coast, Suncorp, Australian Sports Commission, Australian Surf Business Magazine (ASB), Coastalwatch, TravelSIM and Printpoint.

About Hall of Fame:
The Australian Surfing Awards incorporating the Hall of Fame Inductee were first convened in 1985 by the Australian Surfriders Association (now Surfing Australia) to preserve the history of Australian Surfing and honour its great achievers.