Billabong Pro Tahiti Back On At Teahupoo; Watch It Live Now

Ben Dunn. Photo courtesy ASP

TEAHUPOO, Tahiti (Wednesday, May 13, 2009) – The Billabong Pro Tahiti presented by Air Tahiti Nui is back on with clean three-to-four foot (1.5 metre) waves breaking at Teahupoo. Today's action opens up with the remaining two heats of Round 1, starting at 11am, with Round 2 on standby.

Event No. 3 of 10 on the 2009 ASP World Tour, the Billabong Pro Tahiti went on hold for most of the morning while event organizers monitored wind conditions to secure the best possible start time.

"We've been on hold all morning keeping an eye on the conditions and it looks like the wind it becoming favorable and we're gearing up for a start," Luke Egan, Billabong Pro Contest Director, said. "We're looking at a 10:30am start, but if we get everyone situated prior, we may start earlier. We'll start with the remaining two heats of Round 1, with Round 2 on standby."

Up first this morning will be Heitor Alves (BRA), 27, against 2009 ASP Dream Tour rookie Michel Bourez (PYF), 23, in Heat 15 of Round 1.

Surfline, official swell analysts for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, are calling for a moderate WSW swell to fill throughout today with favorable winds, followed by another WSW swell from Thursday through the weekend.

Today's Billabong Pro Tahiti presented by Air Tahiti Nui will be web LIVE via

For more information, log onto

Heat 15:
Heitor Alves (BRA) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)
Heat 16: Roy Powers (HAW) vs. Mick Campbell (AUS)

Heat 1:
C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Phillip MacDonald (AUS)
Heat 2: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Jay Thompson (AUS)
Heat 3: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 4: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Marlon Lipke (DEU)
Heat 5: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) vs. Josh Kerr (AUS)
Heat 6: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. TBA
Heat 7: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 8: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Heiarii Williams (PYF)
Heat 9: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Andy Irons (HAW)
Heat 10: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. TBA
Heat 11: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Dustin Barca (HAW)
Heat 12: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. TBA
Heat 13: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Aritz Aranburu (EUK)
Heat 14: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Dean Morrison (AUS)
Heat 15: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Ben Dunn (AUS)
Heat 16: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. Tim Boal (FRA)