Billabong Rio Pro Is On!

Billabong Rio Pro Men’s Round 1 Is ON At Arpoador

ARPOADOR, Rio de Janeiro/Brazil (Tuesday, May 17, 2011) – After a week-long holding period, the Billabong Rio Pro men's competition is ON today at the lefthand pointbreak of Arpoador in two-to-four foot (1 metre) surf. Today's proceedings are expected to see the completion of Round 1 with the first six heats of Round 2 on standby.

Stop No. 3 of 11 on the men's ASP World Title Series, the Billabong Rio Pro has relocated to the iconic city of Rio de Janeiro after the elite Brazilian event was held at other popular surf destinations across the nation.

"We have moved to Arpoador to make the most of the conditions we have on offer today," Richie Porta, ASP International Head Judge said. "We'll plan on running all of Round 1 today and possibly continue with Round 2 if conditions permit."

Kicking off the Billabong Rio Pro will be 2010 ASP Rookie of the year Owen Wright (AUS), 21, Heitor Alves (BRA), 29, and Bobby Martinez (USA), 28, in Heat 1. The Billabong Rio Pro will be webcast LIVE via

For additional ASP information log on to

Billabong Rio Pro Round 1 Match Ups:
Heat 1: Owen Wright (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Bobby Martinez (USA)
Heat 2: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Ricardo Santos (BRA)
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW), Simao Romao (BRA)
Heat 5: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Igor Morais (BRA)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Julian Wilson (AUS), Peterson Crisanto (BRA)
Heat 7: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA), Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Josh Kerr (AUS)
Heat 9: Damien Hobgood (USA), Tiago Pires (PRT), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 10: Michel Bourez (PYF), Chris Davidson (AUS), Cory Lopez (USA)
Heat 11: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Daniel Ross (AUS)
Heat 12: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Taylor Knox (USA)

Billabong Rio Pro
Stop No. 3 of 11 on the men's ASP World Tour
Stop No. 5 of 7 on the Women's ASP World Tour
Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
May 11 – 22, 2011