Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards Tonight

1999 World Surfing Champion Mark Occhilupo announced as host of XXL awards ceremony. Live Webcast from 7pm Pacific Time,

NEWPORT BEACH, CALIFORNIA – The gladiators of big wave surfing are congregating in Southern California for the 2008 Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards, which unveil this Friday 11th April at the Grove Theatre in Anaheim.

Regarded as the Oscars of big wave surfing, the 2007/08 awards recognize the world’s biggest and heaviest documented rides over the past twelve months, rewarding the most fearless chargers with serious cash and kudos. 

The big wave swell magnets of Chile, Europe, South Africa, Australia, Hawaii, Mexico, California and French Polynesia came alive in 07/08, serving up a number of gargantuan swells that produced rides in all six categories.

In a first for the Billabong XXL, nominated surfers, media, surf industry and webcast viewers will see 1999 World Surfing Champion Mark “Occy” Occhilupo host the eighth annual award’s ceremony.

In all, over $130,000 in cash and prizes will be awarded to the world’s greatest big wave surfers in this edition of the Billabong XXL Awards presented by Monster Energy. Verizon Wireless is the official communications provider and Honda is the official watercraft of the event. is the exclusive surf forecast of the XXL. The event is sponsored by Surfing Magazine, Hawaiian Airlines and High Surf Accessories.

From 7:00pm Pacific Time, the world will tune into for all the action from the official awards ceremony LIVE via webcast including a special red carpet pre show. will also simulcast the awards ceremony. ESPN 2 will air a one our feature program on the Billabong XXL starting May 29th at 9:30pm Pacific Time.

02:00                GMT  (Saturday 12th)
19:00                 Pacific Time (Friday 11th)
22:00`               Eastern Time (Friday 11th)
23:00        `        Brazil Sao Paulo/Rio (Friday 11th)
16:00                Hawaii (Friday 11th)
12:00                Sydney Australia (Saturday 12th)
14:00                Auckland New Zealand (Saturday 12th)
10:00                Asia/Indonesia (Saturday 12th)
04:00                Paris France (Saturday 12th)
04:00                South Africa (Saturday 12th)

For all details, and the list of nominees, about the Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards, please see the website at