Brazilians Claim Titles At Billabong Surf ECO Festival

June 23, 2008: – – Current ASP World No. 4 Adriano de Souza (BRA) proved victorious today, defeating countryman Marcelo Trekinho (BRA) to claim the 2008 Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Qualifying Series (WQS) 5-Star Billabong Surf ECO Festival at Praia do Forte.

Defeating both Nathaniel Curran (USA) and Shaun Cansdell (AUS) en route to his Finals berth, De Souza ensured a Brazilian champion today. In the all-Brazilian final against Trekinho, Adriano had the best performance of the day, securing a 9.73 out of a possible 10, totaling a 17.40 out of a possible 20.

“I am so happy with my result here,” De Souza said. “I am so excited because this is the second event that I compete in Bahia as a professional surfer. This is my second victory here and I want this feeling forever…Now my focus is on the ASP Men’s World Tour,” De Souza continued. “I’ll come soon on J-Bay (South Africa) to training a lot. I want to keep my level on top and stay on first positions.”

Runner-Up Trekinho enjoyed one of the best results of his career and greatly improved his standing on the ASP WQS. “I didn’t compete in some events and now my plan is had a good result here,” Tekinho said. “I started in a good way, with a great result. I wasn’t the best surfer in the event but I surfed in all my heats with intelligence and relaxed. On the finals, de Souza had a best performance and got two good waves in the heat.”

With the 8.5 wave in the last seconds of the heat, the Brazilian Silvana Lima won her first title on the Billabong Surf ECO Festival in Praia do Forte, north of Bahia. At the final, the Brazilian defeated the current WQS number one, the Australian Sally Fitzgibbons, who was leading the heat in the 4 feet waves.

“I didn’t realize when she paddled for that wave, at this time she was really amateur because that wave was so bad. When she stood up, I spoke with God that this is my chance and the wave behind was way better. I took a risk on the first maneuver, one more came and I heard the score, I’m really happy,” said stoked Silvana Lima, that had failed minutes before to turn the heat. “Unfortunately that wave was not so good, but I believed another one is coming, although we’re already at the end of the heat. I never thought to lose that heat and everything goes good,” said Silvana, who got $ 4,000 for the Billabong Surf ECO Festival win, in her first WQS this year. 

Last year, Silvana Lima was the finalist at the Billabong Itacaré WQS and WCT, in south of Bahia. Now, she can celebrate the title also in the event sponsored by Billabong. “I almost won twice in Itacaré, now my time has come and this result was very important to get me motivated once more for this year, therefore I did not start very well in Australia. I decided not to run any WQS to improve my technical and physical condition and this was my first competition since March. I’m very happy to beat Sally, she already won many events this year.” 

Sally Fitzgibbons got $ 2,000 prize money for the second place at Billabong Surf ECO Festival e 2,000 points and leading the WQS 2008 with a great advantage. “She won this event, but I will try to beat her next time. I knew that Silvana was going to fight until the last minute. I got the wrong wave at the end of the heat and she turned on the next one. Was my mistake and she deserved the victory because she took the best waves of the heat,” says Sally, who bit Monik Santos in the semi final. Monik finished equal 3rd with Diana Cristina, who was defeated by Silvana Lima.

An ASP South America event slotted as the 17th contest of the WQS and the 6th stop for the girls. For more information vist or

Adriano de Souza (BRA) champion – scores 9.73 and 7.67 – US $12,000 and 2,000 points
Marceloo Trekinho (BRA) runner up – scores 6.17 and 5.83 – US $6,000 and 1,750 points

Semifinals 1: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 15.50 def. 12.30 Nathaniel Curran (USA)
Semifinals 2: Marcelo Trekinho (BRA) 13.67 def. 12.06 Ricardo Ferreira (BRA)

Quarterfinal 1: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 13.60 def. 12.70 Shaun Cansdell (AUS)
Quarterfinal 2: Nathaniel Curran (USA) 13.40 def. 12.10 Leandro Bastos (BRA)
Quarterfinal 3: Ricardo Ferreira (BRA) 10.17 def. 6.00 Jihad Kohdr (BRA)
Quarterfinal 4: Marcelo Trekinho (BRA) 13.93 def. 12.84 Yuri Sodré (BRA)

WOMEN´S FINAL – 15.67 x 11.50 points:
Silvana Lima (BRA) champion – scores 7.17 and 8.50 – US $4,000 and 2,000 points
Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) runner up – scores 5.50 and 6.00 – US $2,000 and 1,720 points 

Heat 1: Silvana Lima (BRA) 14.40 def. 12.94 Diana Cristina (BRA)
Heat 2: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 12.16 def. 8.33 Monik Santos (BRA)