Chilean Big Wave Event; Watch It Live Wednesday

Watch the Quiksilver Punta De Lobos Big Wave Invitational live at

Watch the Quiksilver Punta De Lobos Big Wave Invitational live at

Quiksilver Big Wave Surf Competition in Chile “ON” for Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Quiksilver Ceremonial Punta De Lobos Big Wave Invitational Presented By Suzuki Will Go Wednesday; One-Day Big Wave Event in Chile to Crown Champion & Early Leader of Big Wave World Tour

Punta de Lobos, Pichilemu, CHILE – (Tuesday, May 18) – The Quiksilver Ceremonial Punta de Lobos Big Wave Invitational, presented by Suzuki, has officially been called ON for Wednesday, May 19, after event organizers received forecasts that waves measuring 25 feet and larger will hit Punta de Lobos, Pichilemu, tomorrow. A one-day, big wave invitational surfing contest, the Quiksilver Ceremonial will crown the event’s champion tomorrow afternoon. The winner will also become the early leader of the 2010/2011 Big Wave World Tour. The event features 24 of the world’s top big wave riders and will be broadcast live at

“These are the most perfect conditions you can expect in Punta de Lobos,” said local resident, big wave expert and invitee to the event, Ramon Navarro. “We are expecting swell and winds from the perfect direction and waves of more than 25 feet.

“The surfers and media in Chile are going crazy. I think it will be one of the most impactful events in the history of surfing here, having some of the biggest waves ever for a paddle-in surfing event in Chile.”

All of the surfers who compete tomorrow have rallied to pledge 50% of their prize winnings toward local relief efforts in the Pichilemu region of Chile following the February 27 earthquake and tsunami that devastated the area. The total prize purse of the event is US$ 30,000.

A complete report and results will be distributed at the close of the competition and will be available at

Grant “Twiggy” Baker (South Africa)
Chris Bertish (South Africa)
Carlos Burle (Brazil)
Ryan Cabezas (Chile)
Kohl Christensen (Hawaii)
Danilo Couto (Brazil)
Shane Desmond (Santa Cruz, Ca., USA)
Shane Dorian (Hawaii)
Cristobal Gonzalez (Chile)
Mark Healey (Hawaii)
Greg Long (San Clemente, Ca., USA)
Diego Medina (Chile)
Peter Mel (Santa Cruz, Ca., USA)
Cristian Merello (Chile)
Marcos Monteiro (Brazil)
Ramon Navarro (Chile)
Jamie Sterling (Hawaii)
Leon Vicuna (Chile)
Gabriel Villaran (Peru)
Dave Wassel (Hawaii)
Fernando Zegers (Chile)
plus 3 local trialists