Chinese Taipei Joins The ISA

Chinese Taipei Joins The ISA As The 70th Country To Be A Member

La Jolla, California, November 3, 2011 - The International Surfing Association (ISA), surfing's world governing authority recognized by the International Olympic Committee, is proud to welcome Chinese Taipei to its list of member nations.

The Chinese Taipei Surfing Association (CTSA), led by President Ying-Che Huang, has been a leader in the growing popularity of the sport of surfing on the island of Taiwan. It is now the country's National Governing Body (NGB) of surfing, as determined by the nation's Ministry of the Interior.

"With the support and guidance of the ISA, our federation now has more confidence to develop the sport of surfing in Taiwan," said CTSA Council Member, Randy Chang. "This will affect Taiwan's surfing environment in many positive ways, such as upgrading the quality and number of our contests, improving judging and coaching performance and increasing surfing's popularity in the country. We also want to generate more quality athletes to participate in world-class competitions."

International Surfing Association (ISA) President, Fernando Aguerre said, "I am thrilled about the news, and happy to welcome Chinese Taipei to the international surfing family. We're witnessing amazing surfing growth in Asia and we're looking forward to introducing the sport to more countries in the region."

Located 99 miles east of China, Chinese Taipei's main island is 245 miles long and 89 miles wide. To the northeast are the principle islands of Japan and the East China Sea, and the southern end of the Ryukyu Islands of Japan are directly to the east. The Batanes Islands of the Philippines lie to its south across the Bashi Channel.

Surfing is practiced mainly on the east side of the island and has perfect waves all along the coast. The monsoons bring solid swells from October to May, which is the best season. From June to September there are also good conditions from typhoon swells.

There are a variety of waves on the island, including beach breaks, rock bottoms and reef breaks.

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running Open Division World Championships since 1964, Junior World Championships since 1980, and Masters World Championships since 2007. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the Tandem Surfing World Title, and will hold the World Bodyboard Championship in 2011, and the first World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 70 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in San Diego, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA’s three Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER) and Debbie Beacham (USA).