Countdown To ISA World Juniors Begins

Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship
May 17, 2011
Punta Hermosa, Peru


With solid eight-foot waves breaking in Punta Hermosa, and a heavy crowd of the world-best junior surfers, delegations from around the globe are assembling for the preeminent Under 18 surfing tournament.

The Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship will be held in the perfect rights and lefts of Caballeros and Señoritas from May 21 to 29. Over 250 of the best junior surfers from 27 countries will be competing for medals and the honor of defending their nations' colors.

Countries are arriving to Peru with a team up to 12 athletes (four Under 18 Boys, four Under 16 Boys and four Under 18 girls) and a support crew of coaches, team managers and assistants.

The three divisions competitors will surf to win gold, silver, bronze and copper medals. The trophy will go to the nation that achieves the highest points total, taking all team members performances into consideration.

Teams to Keep an Eye On
Out of the eight Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship, only three countries have been crowned champions. Australia has won six times, while Brazil and Hawaii have won one each.

The Aussies are the favorites. Meanwhile, Hawaii is always a strong contender and has the second best record of results in the history of the event. After presenting an incomplete team in last year's event, Brazil is back with a full team and ready to climb up in the ratings.

In the 2010 World Surfing Games, Peru proved that they are a tough team to beat when they're got the "home field advantage." Their Boys Under 18 squad is solid.

Team USA is looking to get back in the winning form they had in Tahiti, 2004, when they placed second, their best result ever in the event. After presenting what was looking like a killer team, United States suffered the withdrawal of two of their biggest stars, Kolohe Andino and Evan Geiselman. Still, even without these two, they have a strong team to go for the gold.

South Africa and France also have really strong teams and could surprise the rest of the field. The same goes for Portugal and New Zealand, who always placed in the top 15.

A little bit of history
The 2011 Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship will be the ninth edition of the event.

In 2003, in Durban, South Africa, the first edition of the Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship took place. The Junior division became part of the ISA World Championship in 1980, when legendary surfer Tom Curren won.

2003 – South Africa– Gold Medal: Brazilian Team
2004 – Tahiti – Gold Medal: Australian Team
2005 – USA – Gold Medal: Hawaiian Team
2006 – Brazil – Gold Medal: Australian Team
2007 – Portugal – Gold Medal: Australian Team
2008 – France – Gold Medal: Australian Team
2009 – Ecuador – Gold Medal: Australian Team
2010 – New Zealand – Gold Medal: Australian Team
2011 – Peru – Gold Medal: ?

The date and place is set, and history books will be written in Punta Hermosa, Peru, May 21-29 at the 2011 Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship.