Countdown To Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Begins

triple-crowncHONOLULU – (October 21, 2009) — All indicators point toward a record year for the 27th annual Vans Triple Crown of Surfing, presented by Rockstar Energy Drink, on Oahu’s North Shore, Hawaii. The Series of three men’s and three women’s Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) sanctioned events will run from November 12 through December 20, 2009.

$845,000 Prize Purse at an All-Time High.
Prize money for this three-event series of big wave competitions for men and women is at an all-time high of US$845,000, including $10,000 bonuses for both the men’s and women’s Vans Triple Crown champions. The men’s champion will also receive a $10,000 Nixon watch.

El Nino Surf Already Breaking Records as Surfline Anticipates Great Winter.
El Nino surf action is already breaking pre-season records on the North Shore and there have been a number of excellent days already surfed at Pipeline and Sunset Beach. September 2009 broke all pre-season surf records, logging four times the average number of high surf days (8-12 feet Hawaiian scale) since record keeping began in 1968*.

“We continue to monitor a slowly strengthening El Nino throughout the Pacific Ocean in October, which promises to bring us great surf this winter,” says Sean Collins, Chief Forecaster for Surfline, the official forecaster of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing.

“Warmer water temperatures throughout the tropical Pacific will help to supercharge many storms as they develop and track toward Hawaii.”

O'Neill World Cup Of Surfing

World’s Top-Rated Surfers Sign on For All 3 Events.
The world’s top-rated surfers have signed on for all three events in a battle royale for surfing’s coveted Vans Triple Crown title and the ASP world title. Starting out at the Reef Hawaiian Pro at Haleiwa, November 12-23, current ASP world No.1 Mick Fanning (Australia) heads the field and will be joined by defending Vans Triple Crown champion Joel Parkinson (Australia, current world #2), Adriano De Souza (Brazil, current #3), CJ Hobgood (Florida, USA, current #4), and 2007 Vans Triple Crown champion Bede Durbidge (Australia, current #5).

Sixteen of the Top 17-rated women will contest all three events of the women’s Series, including world champion Stephanie Gilmore (Australia), Silvana Lima (Brazil, current world #2), Sofia Mulanovich (Peru, current #3), and Hawaii’s own Melanie Bartels, the current world #4. The women’s Series begins with the Vans Hawaiian Pro at Haleiwa, where the top ladies will be joined by four wildcards.

Vans Triple Crown Gets Greener, With Aloha.
The Vans Triple Crown of Surfing will commence the first of a multi-year green initiative phase-in this year with the support of local North Shore company Tr3ees. Recycling, compostable food packaging and merchandise packaging, as well as a public education and information program will be implemented as a base from which to expand the greening of the Series in the coming years.

In addition, Vans Triple Crown Director Randy Rarick has announced that ‘the spirit of aloha’ will be the theme of this year’s Series.

“During my travels this year, at a time when people around the world have been working their way through various challenges, I was struck by how positive people were about Hawaii,” said Rarick. “When you say ‘Hawaii’, people’s faces light up. Much of that goes back to the original spirit of aloha that Hawaii and its ambassadors shared with the world during the early days of travel. I have a copy of Duke Kahanamoku’s creed on my desk and I read it every day. That creed will be front and center of our operations this winter and we are looking forward to sharing it with surfers and visitors alike.”

Duke’s Creed:
In Hawai’i we greet friends, loved ones and strangers with Aloha, which means love. Aloha is the key word to the universal spirit of real hospitality, which makes Hawaii renowned as the world’s center of understanding and fellowship.
Try meeting or leaving people with Aloha.
You’ll be surprised by their reaction.
I believe it and it is my creed.
Aloha to you.
-Duke Paoa Kahanamoku

The events of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing, presented by Rockstar Energy Drink are:
The Reef Hawaiian Pro (men) and Vans Hawaiian Pro (women)Reef Hawaiian Pro
Haleiwa’s Ali’i Beach Park, November 12-23

The O’Neill World Cup of Surfing (men) & Gidget Pro Sunset Beach (women)
Sunset Beach, November 24-December 6

The Billabong Pipeline Masters (men) & Billabong Pro Maui (women)
Banzai Pipeline & Honolua Bay, December 8-20

Making the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing presented by Rockstar Energy Drink possible: Reef, O’Neill, Billabong, Gidget Worldwide, Nixon, Turtle Bay Resort, Hawaiian Airlines, JN Automotive Group, Surfing Magazine,, FUEL TV, The Honolulu Advertiser, Hawaiian Springs Water, Road Runner, and the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP).