Dan Moore Wins $68,000 Billabong XXL Award With 68-Foot Wave At Jaws, Maui

Desmond Takes Monster Paddle Honors, Longbottom Has Monster Tube, Dorian Best Performance

ANAHEIM, CA — (April 22, 2005) — Hawaii’s Dan Moore was announced as the winner of the 2005 Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards presented by Monster Energy for his legendary 68-foot wave at Jaws on the north coast of Maui.

A pioneer of personal watercraft-assisted tow-in surfing, the 48-year-old Moore rode his winning wave on December 15, 2004 during one of the strongest swells in recent years. The veteran waterman from Sunset Beach received a check for $68,000 — $1000 per foot — for the achievement. Almost 2000 surfing VIPs watched Moore receive his honors in the Billabong XXL Awards ceremony live at the Grove Theater in Anaheim, California. Thousands more watched the webcast on www.BillabongXXL.com.

While the panel of surf experts determined the wave to be just smaller than the 70-footer which earned top XXL honors for Pete Cabrinha last year at the same spot, Moore’s may have set an unofficial record for biggest wipeout — he was eventually forced to straighten out after a long ride on the North Pacific behemoth.

“It was an amazing day, just massive,” said Moore of the December session. “We saw that wave forming way outside and my partner, Mark Anderson, made sure I got it. He pulled me into it really deep and it just walled up across the reef and took a real high line. I was going faster than I’ve ever gone on a wave in my life, and there were all these crazy chops, bumps and steps in the face. I was trying to hang on and it was borderline out of control. When I saw the lip coming over ahead of me, I knew I was in for it. It was just a full rinse cycle. Now I know what a gecko feels like when a person steps on it.”

Photographer Robert Brown of San Clemente, CA received a check for $5,000 in honor of his capturing the definitive image of Moore’s wave on film.

The Monster Paddle Award for the biggest wave caught without the help of a jet ski was won by Shane Desmond of Santa Cruz for his enormous backside wave caught during the Maverick’s Surf Contest on March 9, 2005 at Half Moon Bay. Desmond received a check for $10,000.

The Monster Tube Award and its $5,000 bounty went to the lone Australian to be nominated, Dylan Longbottom of Bendalong, New South Wales. Longbottom rode his wildly warping barrel at the notorious Shipstern Bluff, on the southern tip of Tasmania.

The Surfline/Jay Moriarity Best Overall Performance Award was won by Shane Dorian of Kona, Hawaii. Now retired from the ASP World Tour and focusing on big waves, Dorian’s rides at a diverse number of surf spots including Tahiti’s Teahupo’o, Oahu’s Waimea Bay and Maui’s Jaws ensured his victory and the $5,000 check. Dorian was the only surfer nominated in both XXL and Paddle-In categories.

The inaugural Monster Women’s Award for big wave achievement was given to Santa Cruz’s Jamiliah Star. Star has established herself over the last several seasons as the hardest charging female on Oahu’s North Shore and this year clinched the honor with rides on numerous large waves at Sunset Beach and Waimea Bay. Star received $5,000.

A lighthearted Best Wipeout Award was handed to Santa Cruz big wave hero Darryl “Flea” Virostko in honor of his “Flea-Flicker” three-story plunge at Waimea Bay during the Quiksilver In Honor of Eddie Aikau contest on December 15, 2004. Flea received a new watercraft rescue sled from High Surf Accessories, not unlike the one which assisted him to the beach after his boardless late drop.

The Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards are presented by Monster Energy Drinks, Honda watercraft and Surfing Magazine. Surfline.com is the official surf forecast of the XXL.

For additional details from the Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards, including photos and video of all the winners, please see the event website at www.BillabongXXL.com