Day 2 Of Ocean And Earth Pro Called Off – New Swell On The Way

Photo courtesy Aquashot/

EL CONFITAL, Gran Canaria (Tuesday, October 7, 2008) – Conditions did not improve throughout the day and organisers and surfers agreed to call the second day of the ASP WQS 4-Star Ocean & Earth Pro pres. La Caja de Canarias off.

The world famous righthander of El Confital was not breaking today due to inconsistent conditions but with four days only needed to complete the event and fice days remaining until the end, offcials are confident they will be able to send some heats out tomorrow afternoon.

Round 1 will feature sixteen 4-man battles before the top seeds of the event get their start. Among the ones supposed to start tomorrow will be ASP Top 45 members Dan Ross (AUS), Jay Thompson (AUS) and Aritz Aranburu (EUK) who entered the event late losing their seed rights.

A new swell is on its way and eventhough it should not be perfect, some good four to five foot (1.2 to 1.5 meter) waves should be giving our first contestants enough to surf tomorrow.

The Ocean & Earth Pro pres. by La Caja de Canarias is webcast LIVE at

Heat 1:
Matt King (USA), William Pasquet (REU), Evan Valiere (HAW)
Heat 2: Travis Mellem (USA), Edgar Nozes (PRT), Fernando Roca (CNY), Jonathan Torres (CNY)
Heat 3: Brandon Jackson (ZAF), Rafael Batista (BRA), Marco Giorgi (URY), Gary Gonzalez (CNY)
Heat 4: Devon Tresher (USA), Ricardo Dos Santos (BRA), Darren Muschett (PRI), Armando Navarro (CNY)
Heat 5: Kyle Knox (USA), Norman landa (EUK), Leif Engstrom (USA), Daniel Ross (AUS)
Heat 6: Txaber Trojaola (EUK), David Rutherford (MEX), Franito Saenz (CNY), Manolo Lezcano (CNY)
Heat 7: Sean Moody (HAW), Marc Lacomare (FRA), Anthony Walsh (AUS), Jay Thompson (AUS)
Heat 8: Parrish Byrne (AUS), Jason Miller (USA), Damian Moro (CNY), Bentor Gonzalez Dominguez (CNY)
Heat 9: Blake Howard (USA), Josh Lewan (AUS), Alexander El Naib (DEU)
Heat 10: Stuart Kennedy (AUS), Dallas Petersen (AUS), Eduardo Acosta (CNY), Alexander Zirke (CNY)
Heat 11: Joao Guedes (PRT), Mikey Bruneau (HAW), Cheyne Willis (HAW), Luiz Hernandez (CNY)
Heat 12: Brandon Ragenovich (USA), Ezra Sitt (HAW), Julian Cuello (CNY), Juan Manuel Florit (CNY)
Heat 13: Bobby Morris (USA), Clancy Dawson (AUS), Casey Brown (HAW), Aritz Aranburu (EUK)
Heat 14: Adam Melling (AUS), Luis Rodriguez (ESP), Aaron Romero (CNY), Antonio Marques (CNY)
Heat 15: Owen Wright (AUS), Dylan Melamed (HAW), Mario Azurza (EUK), Alexis Sanchez (CNY)
Heat 16: Nick White (NZL), Killian Garland (USA), Chris Jimenez Garcia (CNY), Ivan Monagas Torres (CNY)