Day 2 of the Rip Curl Pro scores some Winki

As the alarm clocks around Torquay began to sound, dreary eyes were lit up with the sight of lightly groomed overhead lines stacking up on the Bells Bowl, on down to Winkipop. The day started with Women’s action at Bells with stellar waves for the ladies. As the tide filled up the decision was made to move the men’s round 2 to Winki, a faster steeper right, just down the beach from the Bells.

At the start of Round 2, Winki was about as good as it gets, serving up tube rides and speed sections reminiscent of J-bay. Jordy and Josh Kerr turned in blistering performances, mixing power with tubes.

The upset of the round would come in heat 3 when a revved up Bobby Martinez squeeked by Taj Burrow. Taj was furious as the buzzer sounded, but it was Bobby who showed some fire in the post heat interview. He called the judges out on over-scoring Taj’s 7, among other things. This was a huge heat for Bobby, hopefully he can translate his fire into victory.

The wind and tide began to get a bit dodgy after the first 5 heats, tubes became hard to find, yet big scores were being dropped all day.

The swell is expected to peak tomorrow, with another day of excellent conditions on tap, this event is bound to be remembered for some time.

Heat 1:
Jordy Smith (ZAF) 17.43 def. Adam Robertson (AUS) 16.26
Heat 2: Owen Wright (AUS) 16.70 def. Gabriel Medina (BRA) 7.90
Heat 3: Bobby Martinez (USA) 16.16 def. Taj Burrow (AUS) 15.93
Heat 4: Josh Kerr (AUS) 17.24 def. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 16.04
Heat 5: Damien Hobgood (USA) 12.17 def. Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 11.44
Heat 6: Bede Durbidge (AUS) 12.10 def. Cory Lopez (USA) 11.84
Heat 7: Gabe Kling (USA) 11.67 def. Brett Simpson (USA) 5.00
Heat 8: Jadson Andre (BRA) 12.84 def. Daniel Ross (AUS) 12.84
Heat 9: Chris Davidson (AUS) 16.10 def. Julian Wilson (AUS) 13.83
Heat 10: C.J. Hobgood (USA) 8.17 def. Kai Otton (AUS) 8.10
Heat 11: Kieren Perrow (AUS) 15.10 def. Dusty Payne (HAW) 13.97
Heat 12: Tiago Pires (PRT) 11.77 def. Taylor Knox (USA) 8.06

Heat 1:
Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 2: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 3: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Joel Parkinson (AUS)
Heat 4: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 5: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Stu Kennedy (AUS)
Heat 7: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Bobby Martinez (USA)
Heat 8: Chris Davidson (AUS) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 9: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 10: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 11: Jadson Andre (BRA) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 12: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Josh Kerr (AUS)