Day Three But Still No Surfing At The Billabong Pro Tahiti

Billabong Pro Tahiti pres. by Air Tahiti Nui
Stop No. 3 of 11 on the 2008 ASP World Tour
Teahupoo, Taiarapu, Tahiti
May 8-18, 2007

TEAHUPOO, Tahiti (Saturday, May 10, 2008) – As expected, the Billabong Pro Tahiti is off again today. Event officials are not expecting to run Round 1 until Monday or Tuesday, but monitor the conditions each morning nonetheless. Should conditions be contestable, they would not hesitate to lengthen heat times and commence competition.

Brazil’s Leonardo Neves is among the surfers seeded in early heats who must be prepared for potential competition each morning.

“We drive here every morning thinking, ‘It looks flat, it probably won’t be on,'” Neves said. “But at the same time, you never know so you are always filled with expectation. I have been only surfing rights for many months, no lefthand waves, so I want to practice, but where are the waves?”

Neves, who finished 22nd on the ratings last year, will face against Kai Otton (AUS) and Ricky Basnett  (ZAF) in Heat 2.

Another call on competition will be made tomorrow morning at 7am.

The Billabong Pro Tahiti will be webcast LIVE on and

Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Dean Morrison (AUS), Luke Munro (AUS), Daniel Ross (AUS)
Heat 2: Kai Otton (AUS), Leonardo Neves (BRA), Ricky Basnett (ZAF)
Heat 3: Bobby Martinez (USA), Roy Powers (HAW), Royden Bryson (ZAF)
Heat 4: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Tim Reyes (USA), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 5: Andy Irons (HAW), Ben Dunn (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 6: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Damien Hobgood (USA), Aritz Aranburu (EUK)
Heat 7: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Dayyan Neve (AUS), Chris Ward (USA)
Heat 8: Kelly Slater (USA), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Manoa Drollet (PYF)
Heat 9: Mick Fanning (AUS), Pancho Sullivan (HAW), Jamie O’Brien (HAW)
Heat 10: Taj Burrow (AUS), Tom Whitaker (AUS), Bruno Santos (BRA)
Heat 11: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Jordy Smith (ZAF), Mikael Picon (FRA)
Heat 12: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Jay Thompson (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 13: Taylor Knox (USA), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Jihad Khodr (BRA)
Heat 14: Luke Stedman (AUS), Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA), Michael Campbell (AUS)
Heat 15: Dane Reynolds (USA), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Ben Bourgeois (USA)
Heat 16: Neco Padaratz (BRA), Bruce Irons (HAW), Daniel Wills (AUS)