Eastern Surfing Association Georgia District Contest #1 Of The Season

This Saturday, April 12. Sign Up 9:00am

2008 Georgia Contest Schedule
Date/Sign Up Time
April 12 – Sign-up 9:00am
May 3 – Sign-up 1:00pm
May 10 – Sign-up 8:00am
June 28 – Sign-up 10:30am
July 12 – Sign-up 10:30am
July 26 – Sign-up 9:00am (Alternate Date)
August 23 – Sign-up 8:00am
September 6 – Sign-up 8:00am
October 4 – Sign-up 7:00am
October 18 – Sign-up 7:00am (Alternate Date)

Contest Dates/site may be changed due to weather/wave conditions.

Location: 17th Street, Tybee Island. Alternate Sites: The Lighthouse or 2nd St.

Entry Fee:
ESA Members: $15 First Division, $5 additional Divisions
Non-members: $40 For 1 year membership (2 divisions), $5 additional divisions (1st contest: $45 total for membership & contest)

Call 912-897-6651 for more information/contest update

Other Tybee Events or ESA Events:
April 25th-27th ESA Mid Atlantic Regional Championships, Myrtle Beach, SC
May 16th-17th Tybee Beach Bum Weekend
May 31 ESA SSC Wahini Contest
June 21, International Surfing Day, Tybee
August 9-10 ESA SSC Governor’s Cup **Bonus Points for this contest in GADistrict**
September TBA, Eastern Surfing Championships, Outer Banks, NC
October 10-11th Tybee Island Pirate Fest
December 13th Tybee Christmas Parade
2009 MARSC   – Wed. 3/25/09 thru Sat. 3/28/09, Puerto Rico

About The ESA
The ESA, a non-profit organization with IRS tax-exempt status, is the largest amateur surfing organization in the world. With a current membership of 9,500 surfers, it was founded in 1967 by East Coast surfers to promote, preserve and protect the sport of surfing on the East Coast. Our family oriented programs promote a healthy, active lifestyle, and it is not uncommon to find two or three generations of the same family involved as members of the ESA and actively competing in our program.

For over forty years the ESA has been dedicated to the sport of amateur surfing, to the operation of a program of amateur competition for surfers of all ages and abilities, and to the establishment and preservation of free access to a clean shoreline and ocean environment.

Each year the ESA has over 150 competitions which are organized into a totalof twenty-seven districts, extending along nearly 2,000 miles of coastline, stretching from Maine through the Gulf coast of Florida and Alabama and also around the Great Lakes, and now Puerto Rico. Each district’s programs aredeveloped and operated by volunteer directors and a staff of other volunteers who assist them in this task. Competitors advance from the local district level to Region Competitions, then on to the East Coast Championships and National Championships.

The Eastern Surfing Association (ESA) is dedicated to the sport of amateur surfing, to the operation of a program of amateur competition for surfers of allages and abilities, and to the establishment and preservation of free access to a clean shoreline and ocean environment.

The Georgia District, directed by Jeff & Tara Mosley since 1995, currently has over 100 members and hosts many events on Tybee Island throughout the year including district contests, parties, & fund raising events. The ESA’s Georgia District is currently the only ESA representation in the State and has frequently sent competitors to Regional, Eastern and National SurfingChampionships. It has also helped to feed the production of a nationally recognized champion (Roy Overstreet, 1998 US National Champion), ASP rated professional judges (Travis Williams), and has fostered development of people that have gone on to work in national surf magazines (Tim Saunders – Eastern Surf Magazine), not to mention numerous individuals that are productive working members of our community – whether it be people that apply the craft in the building trades,people that own their own businesses, those that work in the high tech or engineering sectors, as well as those that teach school to our community’s children within Chatham County.

The ESA Marsh Scholarship Fund
Since the implementation of the ESA’s Marsh Scholarship fund in 1981, over $43,000 in scholarship grants have been awarded to deserving ESA students. Inaddition, scholarship grants have been awarded to division finalists each year in the East Coast Scholastic Surfing Championships.

The purpose of the program is to offer financial aid to deserving student surfers who wish to continue their education beyond the secondary school level. The grants are awarded on the basis of academics and citizenship rather than athletic ability. A detailed application and letters of recommendation are the major criteria for the selection committee, and while there are no applicationfees involved, applicants must be members in good standing of the ESA.

The Georgia District currently awards two $250 sholarships each year, the JAMES C GOODLETT SR. Memorial Scholastic Young Surfer Award and the JOSEPHINE MEUSE Memorial Young Woman Surfer Award. These go a local female and local male competitor in the youngest divisions and are based on academic and athletic performance combined.

All in all, the association is very proud of these programs, as they present a positive public image and also fills a genuine need – financial aid for students.

The ESA All-Stars
Each year the Eastern Surfing Association recognizes the need for an All Star Team which represents the organization as official surfing ambassadors. The selection criteria for this team is very strict. All members have to meet these standards:
“style” – how you are perceived, how you carry yourself, your personal reputation
“attitude” – your beach and water attitudes and your overall person; your reception to constructive criticism and improvement; what you put back into the organization; and your willingness to help other surfers and the directors.
“performance” – your competition record which encompasses your district, region, East Coast Scholastic Championship, United States Championship, and East Coast Championship records.

The All Stars, who travel extensively, are representative of the intensiveprograms that the ESA conducts. Drug free, committed and involved, the All Stars are our pride.