Eastern Surfing Association Names All-Star Team

Team to be Introduced at Surf Expo in Orlando, Fla. on January 13

OCEAN CITY, Md. (December 18, 2000) – The Eastern Surfing Association (ESA), the world’s largest surfing organization, has announced the 38 surfers and bodyboarders who will make up its 2001All-Star Team. This illustrious group was selected from a pool of over 7,000 ESA members. The team will be officially announced at a press conference during the 2001 Surf Expo at the Orange CountyConvention Center on International Drive in Orlando, Fla. The press conference will take place from 2 – 3 p.m. on Saturday, January 13 in Room 109 B, located on the Expo registration level.

“We feel that this All-Star group is a strong representation of East Coast surfing,” said Brian Broom, director and coach of the ESA All-Star Team. “I am proud of each and every one of theseathletes and the dedication they have towards the sport of surfing. Being an All-Star is a big commitment and a real honor. There are many responsibilities both in and out of the water. I’mcertain this group will continue the strong tradition of the ESA All-Star program.”

The following athletes have been named to the 2001 ESA All-Star Team: Connie Arias (Melbourne Beach, Fla.), David Awbrey (Cocoa Beach, Fla.), Noah Beaman (New Smyrna Beach, Fla.), Jamie Dewitt(North Beach Haven, N.J.), Nicole Diggs (Kitty Hawk, N.C.), J. Lee Driscoll (St. Augustine, Fla.), Eric Geiselman (New Syrna Beach, Fla.), Joe Gillen (Virginia Beach, Va.), Bobby Holland (VirginiaBeach, Va.), Ryan Hruda (Savannah, Ga.), Todd Kinsey (Daytona Beach, Fla.), Jacob Kirschenbaum (Cocoa Beach, Fla.), Paul Loukas (Washington, D.C.), Hunter Lupton (Pine Knoll Shores, N.C.), HowieLyon (St. Augustine, Fla.), Darren Manser (South Daytona Beach, Fla.), Chris Mansor (Avalon, N.J.), Alexander Morton (St. Augustine, Fla.), Anthony Osment (Charleston, S.C.), Mike Paton (St.Augustine, Fla.), Dana Quinn (Kitty Hawk, N.C.), Don Raby (Palm Coast , Fla.), Rory Reep (Jacksonville Beach, Fla.), Eric Rheaume (Jacksonville Beach, Fla.), Bob Sheppard (Merritt Island, Fla.),Kira Sheppard (Merritt Island, Fla.), Tony Silvagni (Kure Beach, N.C.), David Sledge (Atlantic Beach, N.C.), Eric Taylor (Vero Beach, Fla.), Devon Tresher (New Smyrna Beach, Fla.), Ryan Wade (NewYork, N.Y.), Ainslee Wallace (Virginia Beach, Va.), Bill Whatley (New Smyrna Beach, Fla.), Gary Wheeler (Satellite Beach, Fla.), Brendan Willem (Surf City, N.J.), Sara Willis (Salter Path, N.C.),Jere Wilson (Savannah, Ga.) and Dan Worley (Flagler Beach, Fla.).

Each year the ESA chooses the best surfers on the East Coast to make up its All-Star team. This talented team of male and female athletes represents the ESA as the Association’s official surfingambassadors. All members of the team have to meet specific standards including style, attitude and performance and must consent to drug testing. Some of the

ESA All-Star Team Announced

more notable current All-Stars are Eric Taylor, David Awbrey and Jamie Dewitt, as well as Girls Champion Connie Arias. They follow in the footsteps of former ESA All-Stars who include six-timeWorld Champion Kelly Slater, world class bodyboarder Jay Reale, `96 World Juniors Champion Ben Bourgeois, current ASP top-ten ranked world pro surfers Shea and Corey Lopez, as well as current topranked women’s pro tour surfer Falina Spires and pro bodyboarder Brian Stoehr.

“This is an incredible honor and I’m looking forward to the opportunity to surf in some extraordinary locations while promoting East Coast surfing,” said ESA All-Star Captain and five yearAll-Star veteran Eric Taylor of Vero Beach, Fla. “When you look at previous surfers who made the ESA All-Star Team, it’s an unbelievable feeling to be grouped in with these people.”

The ESA is the world’s largest surfing organization producing over 200 events throughout the East Coast each year. There are over 7,000 ESA members. The ESA iss comprised of three regions along theEast Coast: the Northeast, Mid-Atlantic and Southeast. To learn more about the Eastern Surfing Association, contact ESA Headquarters at 800-WE-SHRED (937-4733) or visit www.surfesa.org.

If planning to attend the ESA All-Star press conference at the Surf Expo, please contact David Robertson at 202.232.9283 or robertson@wavepr.com.