Fernando Aguerre Reelected As ISA President

On May 26, Reef Chairman Fernando Aguerre was reelected as International Surfing Association President by unanimous decision of all 29 attending members at the Biennial General Meeting of the ISA in Durban, South Africa.

This is Aguerre’s fourth re-election to a post he’s held since 1994. Terms last for two years.

The other elected executive committee members include Alan Atkins (executive director of Surfing Australia), Robin De Kock (executive director of Surfing South Africa and head of organizing committee for these World Surfing Games 2002), Maile Aguerre (VP of Pan American Surfing Association), and Ramon “Moncho” Gil (president Spanish Surfing Federation).

These executive committee members were elected from a pool of six candidates. The two candidates not elected include Marcos Conde (Executive Director Brazilian Surfing Confederation) and Jacques Hele (Honorary President French Surfing Federation). The meeting also awarded Jacques Hele the title of “Honorable Member Emeritus of the ISA”, after a career of more than 30 years in competitive surfing in both the ISA and ASP.