Final Day Of Billabong Pro Tahiti Live Now

Jeremy Flores

Watch Jeremy Flores and pals tear up Teahupo'o today for the final day of the Billabong Pro Tahiti. Photo: ASP

Final Day Billabong Pro Tahiti ON in Solid Surf at Teahupo’o

TEAHUPO’O, Taiarapu/Tahiti (Monday, August 27, 2012) – The final day of the Billabong Pro Tahiti has been called on this morning with the first heat of Round 5 commencing at 7am.

Event No. 5 of 10 on the 2012 ASP World Championship Tour, the Billabong Pro Tahiti saw a massive day of action yesterday and will culminate in the best conditions of the waiting period today.

"Surf is coming through in the four-to-six foot (1.5 – 2 metre) range this morning and we're fortunate enough to have the best conditions available for the final day," Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. "We'll be starting competition at 7am and will be running straight through to the Final. Good luck to all our competitors today."

Kelly Slater (USA), 40, reigning 11-time ASP World Champion and defending Billabong Pro Tahiti winner, suffered a shock elimination in Round 3 yesterday at the hands of wildcard Ricardo dos Santos (BRA). Slater came into Tahiti ranked No. 2 on the ASP World Championship Tour rankings, but six ASP Top 10 surfers currently remain in the event: Mick Fanning (AUS), 31, Joel Parkinson (AUS), 31, Taj Burrow (AUS), 34, John John Florence (HAW), 19, Owen Wright (AUS), 22, and Julian Wilson (AUS), 23. A shuffle at the top-end of the ASP WCT rankings is likely by day's end.

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, are calling for a much larger, long period South swell for today with easing winds. Up first this morning will be wildcard Ricardo dos Santos (BRA) up against Taj Burrow (AUS), 34, in the opening heat of Round 5.

The Billabong Pro Tahiti will be webcast LIVE via For more information, log onto

The Billabong Pro, Tahiti is made possible with the valued support of international partners Air Tahiti Nui, Sony, Xperia Sony Smartphone and Red Bull, along with our friends at Nixon, VonZipper, Mana and Hyundai.

Heat 1: Ricardo dos Santos (BRA) vs. Taj Burrow (AUS)
Heat 2: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Julian Wilson (AUS)
Heat 3: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 4: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Damien Hobgood (USA)

QF 1: Mick Fanningb (AUS) vs. TBD
QF 2: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. TBD
QF 3: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. TBD
QF 4: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. TBD