First Nixon WTA 2010, Jeffrey’s Bay July 15-25


ENCINITAS, CA- The first stop of this years Nixon's WTA (Winner Takes All) will occur at The Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay, July 15-25, and will be awarded to the surfer with the highest heat score during the event. Waves from trails to finals count, which leaves the contest open to all surfers during the 10-day event.

Now in its fourth consecutive year, The Nixon WTA is a winner-takes-all event along three stops of the 2010 ASP (Association of Surfing Professionals) World Tour.  Challenges in this  years Nixon WTA include Highest Heat Score (Jeffreys Bay, South Africa), Heaviest Wave (Teahupoo, Tahiti), and Triple Crown Winner (Oahu, Hawaii). One winner in each category at each location will be awarded a Nixon watch valued at over $10,000 USD. This years watches will feature custom engraved casebacks, a Swiss tide movement, and either an emerald (Jeffreys Bay), ruby (Teahupoo) or diamond (Oahu) at the hour indices making this years watches truly unique and one-of-a-kind.

Previous Nixon WTA Jeffreys Bay Winners for Highest Heat Score have included:

2009- Dane Reynolds
2008- Taylor Knox
2007- Kelly Slater

Video content of each of the WTA stops and winners will be available to view on

About the Nixon WTA

The Nixon WTA is a winner-takes-all event which awards custom, limited edition Nixon timepieces at three stops along the ASP World Tour. The three WTA challenges include: highest heat score at Jeffreys Bay, South Africa, in July; heaviest wave in Teahupoo, Tahiti, in August; and the overall Triple Crown winner on the North Shore of Oahu in December.