Four Wildcards Announced For Oakley Pro Junior Global Challenge In Bali Oct. 7-17

Marc Lacomare. Photo courtesy Oakley/Hennings

Marc Lacomare. Photo courtesy Oakley/Hennings

(Foothill Ranch, Calif., Sept. 29, 2009) – Four wildcards have been announced for the second annual Oakley Pro Junior Global Challenge in Bali, Indonesia, October 7-17, 2009. The final showdown event, the culmination of a six-event international qualifying series, offers the richest prize purse for junior men, $75,000 total and $20,000 for first place. A small field of 18 of the world's best juniors will compete in a man-on-man World Tour-style format over four days of competition during a 10-day holding period.

After qualifying stops in Australia, U.S.A, South Africa, Australia, Brazil, Japan and France where the top two finishers qualified, 12 men earned spots into the Bali Final. Oakley announced four wildcards this week who will also get the chance to compete: France's Marc Lacomare (who placed second last year), Clay Marzo (HAW), Granger Larsen (HAW) and Nat Young (Santa Cruz, CA). To round out the field of 18, two additional wildcards, one who will be decided at a local Bali trial, will be announced.

"Expectations are high for the second annual Oakley Pro Junior Global Challenge," says Ronny Nelson, Oakley Sports Marketing Manager. "Last year, our line-up was insane and conditions were epic. This year’s roster, including the wildcards, is as good as its gets for a global 20-and-under contest. We are excited to get to Bali and watch the world’s best juniors surf a world-class wave."

Joining the four wildcards, the 12 qualifiers include:

1.    Sam Wrench (AUS)*
2.    Billy Stairmand (NZL)*

1.    Kai Barger (HAW)
2.    Davey Cathels (AUS)

1.    Shaun Joubert (ZAF)
2.    Brendon Gibbens (ZAF)

1.    Alejo Muniz (BRA)
2.    Jesse Mendes (BRA)

1.    Dillon Perillo (USA)
2.    Kato Arashi (JPN)

1.    Charly Martin (FRA)
2.    Wiggolly Dantas (BRA)

Now in its second year, the Oakley Pro Junior Global Challenge Qualifying Series began traversing the globe back in February at North Stradbroke Island, Queensland, Australia (Feb. 3-7). The remaining five qualifying stops landed at Lower Trestles, San Clemente, Calif. (April 28-May 2), Port Alfred, ECP, South Africa (May 1-3), Etapa Itajai, Brazil (May 19-24), Shidashita Point, Chiba, Japan (Aug. 7-9), and Grand Plage, Lacanau, Gironde, France (Aug. 13-17).

The Oakley Pro Junior Global Challenge is a unique specialty series launched by Oakley in 2008 to give young surfers the opportunity to compete at some of the best surfing locales around the world. After a hugely successful inaugural year, the 2009 series acquired international momentum and qualifying became a main priority for many of the world's top juniors.

For more information log onto

*The two original Australia Qualifiers, Owen Wright, currently No. 2 on the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Qualifying Series (WQS), and Jadson Andre, currently No. 3 on the ASP WQS, pulled out of the event in order to pursue WQS points.