FreeSurf Magazine’s Kai Mana Awards

No other event has brought Hawai’i’s surf community together under one roof like this one. It’s a place where the 50th State’s finest wave riders mingle and honor each other among the surf industry’s elite. And it’s one of the best parties on the North Shore during the winter surf season. It’s the second annual FreeSurf Magazine Kai Mana Awards presented by Quiksilver and Oceanic Cable 16.

Honoring the top wave riding male and females from the islands, (from top male and female pros, paddle-in charger, tow-in team, ambassador of aloha, lifetime achievement, ocean safety, top longboarder, top bodyboarder, grom phenom, breakthrough male and female) this is an event like no other. Board Stories TV hosts Chris Latronic and Kanani Oury, as well as Billabong Surf TV lovely, Poerava Mau, will be joined by Da Bruddahs of Da Bruddahs and Friends TV show in honoring Hawai’i’s top ocean athletes. After the acceptance speeches are made, North Shore’s favorite band to sweat to, Swampa Z.Z., will rock the stage.

And no one knows how to party like the kama’aina. Former World Champion Sunny Garcia and two-time Triple Crown Champion and 1982 Pipe Master Michael Ho called the inaugural FreeSurf Magazine Kai Mana Awards the best awards event they’d ever been to. A rainbow of the surf world’s watermen and women attended, from living legends like Rabbit Kekai, Buffalo Keaulana and ASP President Rabbit Bartholomew, to hot shots like Fred Patacchia, Jr., Pancho Sullivan, Jamie O’Brien, Bonga Perkins, Keala Kennelly, Rochelle Ballard and Kala Alexander. This year is guaranteed to be bigger and better. Tune in for the hour-long special on Board Stories TV (OC16) to see all the surf celebrities and party people!

Who: Hawai’i’s hottest pros and surf industry bros
What: The Second Annual FreeSurf Magazine Kai Mana Awards
When: Friday, Dec. 8, 2006
Where: Waimea Falls Audubon Center, Pikake Pavillion
Why: To honor Hawai’i’s top wave riders